We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont stay here if travelling with kids without checking room details first.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #70 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2011

i would just like to say i booked this trip back in january over the internet and recieved an email back that room 1 was booked for 2 adults and 2 children.when we arrived we were told we were only booked in as 2 adults the room would have been fine if we were just 2 adults the room had a king size bed and a sofa bed which for a 16 year old girl and a 10 year old boy to share was not suitable.i complained to the man on the desk (stuart) who told us that we could book another room at extra cost as we had come as a family we wanted to stay as a family or we wouldnt be charged if we didnt want to stay we had just travelled miles and this comment wasnt very helpful.we decided to stay as you would when you are on holiday,and had to put up with the situation.when we booked out we were given no apology and nothing was mentioned of our inconvenience. we have had better sleeping facilities with a travelodge than we did with you.oh the breakfast staff were very nice!!

Room Tip: ring up first if with kids to make sure .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshirepudding68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 629 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed 20th May with a group of friends, Clean room,good food & brilliant service! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinhead01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stayed with a bunch of guys on a cycling trip. It was ideal. Great food and bar. Comfy bed. Would definitely go back. Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mowgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Have stayed in Keswick many times but our first stay in the Lodge. Room was small but OK for our needs and was clean and tidy. We had dinner on first night and it was an excellent roast with all the trimmings - very good value. Bar was fine and the selection of beers, although behind somewhere like the CAMRA awarded Dog and Gun, was absolutely fine with a couple of guest beers available. I wanted to change my room just through personal preference and this was not a problem - I was given the choice of two alternatives - excellent service. Parking is not available but for c£12 we got parking close by for 2 and a bit days. All in all, a very good reasonably priced hotel with very helpfiul, friendly staff. Recommended.

Room Tip: Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

we stayed for 2 nights.The initial welcome was friendly

The room was nicely decorated but on closer inspection there were a couple of negatives, there was very little storage- a tiny wardrobe and no chest of drawers and the plug socket next to the table unit could not be used due to the lip on the unit obscuring the socket, however there were plenty of other sockets available. The rooms were quite hot (but a fan was provided) and the matress was very hard. Despite being at the front of the property overlooking the pedestrian area there was little noise in the room.

The breakfast was nice and the food served in the bar was very good. The of lagers was limited but the real ale selection was good,

We actually got moved during our stay as the shower unit would not turn off and were moved to a room where the extractor fan in the bathroom was on constantly- which bacame noisey at night. When this was mention on checking out the manager discounted the room rate.

The reception desk is unmanned and at busy times in the bar service can be slow as staff are called via a bell service.

Parking is in the pay and display carparks, some of which are limited to 3 hours and charge between 8 am and 7pm, this can add to the cost of the holiday and when Keswick is busy can imagine that parking may be a problem.

The mobile phone signal in the area is hit and miss so be aware that you cannot rely on telephone communication.

Room Tip: take plenty of change for the carparks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

A friendly welcome and a good pint after a long day on the fells made the Lodge a great place to stay in Keswick. The rooms were stylish, comfy and spotless. We ended up with a large family room although we'd only booked a double - but we will be back with our children later in the year. Full english with locally sourced ingredients was included.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezzy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

What more can I say. Good central location. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff or the friendly manager. The breakfast was excellent with a varied choice. The evening meal was good solid pub food. We enjoyed our stay and will return. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
784 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#65 of 189 in Keswick
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $107 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing