We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in High Rigg - great locations and views, lovely warm welcoming house to hang out with extended family.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages
Ranked #27 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Reviewed October 25, 2010

High Rigg has been really well thought out. Really comfortable open plan ground floor layout with three big sofas, so everyone can sit together, the kitchen is slightly recessed away from the main living space - but still part of it - so if it's your turn to cook, you're not missing out on the chat. Large dining table. Really efficient log fire - we had a blaze going within minutes of getting back each afternoon; not that we needed it for warmth - just aesthetics. Kids roamed around the 5 acres of grounds - played football everyday in the paddock, built a den in the woods, gathered kindling... Owners welcoming, enthusiastic and helpful - but not at all in your face. What more could you want. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimplepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed at High Rigg for a few days - it was just about perfect, lovely open plan property, clean and modern. The welcome was friendly and the location was great.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

The cottages at Brackenrigg are our favourites for self catering in the Lakes. We prefer to be out of the town itself, but Kewsick is only short drive away if you need supplies - or the pub. The cottages are a safe distance from the road, and there is enough space in the grounds for running around - important as we have a child. We have stayed a number of times and the standard of cleanliness and decoration has always been excellent. The views are stunning (our little girl once asked me if the view was real!) and the friendly owners are happy for you to explore the little woodland behind the accommodation. We like self catering and walking and will keep going back as Brackenrigg is tip top choice .

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlecatlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed at the High Rigg cottage and although the downstairs was ok the upper floor needed bringing up to 2010 standards, the shower was weak comming off the taps and the attention to detail was poor.
You can't have a log fire if no wood is supplied, you can't watch the squirrels if not nuts are put out and you can't watch the wild birds if the feeders are empty.
If you plan to keep in touvh with the office, there is no mobile signal and the wi-fi is of no use.
Nice area though and still had a great break in the lakes

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Photoscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMTIG, Owner at Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2010

I am sorry you felt High Rigg was not up to 2010 standards. VisitBritain have always rated this cottage as 4*. Upstairs was repainted in January 2010, and last year High Rigg had a new kitchen and downstairs make-over. As a very small business, we have to budget, and we improve our cottages each year over a rolling programme.

We are sorry you couldn’t get your wifi to work, if you’d told us at the time, we would have helped. (The guests staying immediately before & after you had no problems) This applies to logs too - we supply a big basket free, and will always refill.

As for feeders, I replenish these at least weekly (although it isn’t a usual service in holiday cottages!!) You could have asked for more nuts if you'd noticed the feeder in your garden was already empty. The red squirrels live in the pine trees adjacent to High Rigg, and although being wild they don't perform to order, they are often scampering up the trees and running across High Riggs lawn - whether or not there are nuts put out for them. This applies to the birds too - there is a huge variety (over 40 species identified) in the gardens foraging for their natural food and we provide binoculars for you to use too. Did you see the pair of greater spotted woodpeckers visiting the birch tree in the garden of High Rigg? Or the wren that lives in the low stone wall outside High Riggs patio doors? Only a small number of species (mainly bluetits) come to the feeders. Have you ever tried just putting bread crumbs or chopped up bacon rind out for the birds?

I notice you put ‘poor value’ on your ratings. We gave you a very generous 45% discount off the off-peak price for High Rigg when you booked (as the much smaller cottage you originally wanted was already booked). What kind of value were you actually looking for?

We are frustrated that you saved up these relatively minor concerns to publish on the internet rather than raise them with us at the time. A lot of self-catering cottages are managed remotely with their owners living 100's of miles away – no one is going to replenish your log basket or squirrel feeder for you! We live here and are always happy to assist (as we did with restaurant advice for you, canoe lessons etc) - you just need to ask!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

I recently stayed in The Sett at Brackenrigg. I have now been to Brackenrigg several times over the last few years and it is my preferred place to stay in the wonderful Lake District. It has always been welcoming and, of course, the setting is inspiring. They have just put in a new kitchen and bathroom, which adds to the comfort of The Sett after long walks and there are nice touches everywhere. I have always found the owners attentive, helpful and knowledgeable without being instrusive - this is, after all, a self catering place - go to a hotel if you want to have room service! It is a fantastic base for walking and getting to all the main spots in the lakes. We saw red squirrels on the patio everyday, and a cheeky chaffinch knocking on the window for its breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonto321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I have stayed at Brackenrigg with my family several times. The cottages are very comfortable, beautifully clean, and have all the extra home touches to make your stay a pleasure. Lots of space for the kids to roam around and explore. Great walking from the door, and Keswick in easy reach.

Having read various reviews I am intrigued as to what some people expect from a self catering holiday. I like to have a nice warm cosy base to explore without any particular contact with the owners, unless in an emergency. That said, the owners at Brackenrigg are easily contactable, helpful and friendly and I highly recommend this accomodation to anyone unless you want a package holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beanandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We have found the owners to be inflexible,short sighted and in keeping with some of the other comments made here, just focussed on taking our money. We won't be rebooking.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FlorenceBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMTIG, Owner at Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2010

We are disappointed with this review, as you decided not to travel to Cumbria. We try to be flexible as possible to our guests, and sorry you felt we were not. Unfortunately we cannot give a full refund on a decision to cancel 10mins before your expected arrival.

You were due to arrive on the Friday afternoon following the flooding earlier in the week in Keswick, and we had been in contact with you and our other guests, many times over the course of Thursday and Friday morning. We were not affected by the floods - we are 3 miles outside of Keswick and by Friday morning, the weather was calm, sunny - a truly Cumbrian 'blue-sky' day.

The advice from Cumbria Tourism to guests was that 'Cumbria is open' and keen for you to come. All our other guests arrived. We understand that you had decided not to come first thing in the morning - although despite our conversations over the course of that day where we explained in detail the travel and weather conditions (there were no travel problems for the whole route) - you didn't let me know that until 3.50pm, and then demanded a full refund.

We try to be flexible to our guests - and have offered alternative weeks to guests this January who couldn't get here due to heavy snow in the south, but we cannot give a refund if the travel conditions, and Brackenrigg, are actually fine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.6 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
3.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages

Address: Bracken Rigg, Naddle | Near Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages has four beautiful cottages to suit guests from singles, couples, families and groups up to 16. Stunning views of the Helvellyn range and lovely gardens visited by red squirrels frequently. Delightful walks from the door in the beautiful Naddle and St John's in the Vale valleys, or High Rigg, and Ravens Crag. Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages makes a wonderful base for your Lake District Holiday 3 cottages in our beautifully converted barn: The Sett has 2 bedrooms: 1 double, and 1 twin (with an additional z-bed for a child), open plan living, dining and kitchen, bathroom with shower over the bath. The well equipped kitchen has ceramic hob, oven, microwave, dishwasher, fridge and freezer, SKY TV, ipod doc, dvd, free wi-fi BBQ and patio area, laundry room Bleaberry: sleep sup to 2 (double bed), open plan studio with well equipped kitchen, living dining and lounge area, lovely bathroom, pation and bbq. Sky Tv, dvd, ipod doc, free wi-fi laundry room Brocklebeck: similar to Bleaberry with twin beds 50m away on the same estate: Brackenrigg House: a substantial Victorian Country House: sleeps 10 in 5 generous sized all ensuite bedrooms: 3 double, 2 twin bedrooms. Large living room opening through stained glass window panels to dining room and hand made oak kitchen with range cooker, large fridge freezer, microwave, dishwasher etc. Games room, laundry room with large washing machine and drier. Impressive verandah overlooking fells to Hellvelyn, summer house and BBQ area, CD player, ipod dock, tv, wifi central heating and 2x wood burning stoves. Located in 7 acres of private gardens, meadows, and woodland, in the very heart of the Lake District National Park just 2 miles South of Keswick, and a 10min drive from Grasmere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing