We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing customer relations.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages
Ranked #24 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We have found the owners to be inflexible,short sighted and in keeping with some of the other comments made here, just focussed on taking our money. We won't be rebooking.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FlorenceBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMTIG, Owner at Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2010

We are disappointed with this review, as you decided not to travel to Cumbria. We try to be flexible as possible to our guests, and sorry you felt we were not. Unfortunately we cannot give a full refund on a decision to cancel 10mins before your expected arrival.

You were due to arrive on the Friday afternoon following the flooding earlier in the week in Keswick, and we had been in contact with you and our other guests, many times over the course of Thursday and Friday morning. We were not affected by the floods - we are 3 miles outside of Keswick and by Friday morning, the weather was calm, sunny - a truly Cumbrian 'blue-sky' day.

The advice from Cumbria Tourism to guests was that 'Cumbria is open' and keen for you to come. All our other guests arrived. We understand that you had decided not to come first thing in the morning - although despite our conversations over the course of that day where we explained in detail the travel and weather conditions (there were no travel problems for the whole route) - you didn't let me know that until 3.50pm, and then demanded a full refund.

We try to be flexible to our guests - and have offered alternative weeks to guests this January who couldn't get here due to heavy snow in the south, but we cannot give a refund if the travel conditions, and Brackenrigg, are actually fine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2008

We have been coming to Brackenrigg for the past five years. As lovers of the lake district, we find this is an ideal location in great surroundings.
Our favourite cottage is The Sett, which is very spacious and well equipped. The large open plan living area is very appealing, especially the views across to Helvellyn from the lounge window. From the bedroom window it has been a pleasant surprise to have seen various wildlife, especially the red squirrel tapping on the window pane one morning.
The on site washing and drying facilities are a real bonus for everyday walkers like ourselves.
The owners are very friendly and always accommodating. The little touches such as fresh milk and bread on arrival are welcome. The wine was also appreciated!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ScafellRange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

We can't reccommend Brackenrigg enough! Firstly, the location, the cottages are located within a 2 minute drive of central Keswick, you can travel to all the major parts of the Lakes easily, Grasmere, Windermere, Castlerigg Stone Circle are simple to get to. The cottages are all kept beautifully in their own grounds with the mountains in front and behind of you. There's a woodland walk leading up the mountains at the rear of the premises where we saw all sorts of wildlife, badgers, deer, sheep and even a red squirrel.

You couldn't ask for a more peaceful location, we've now stayed three times, twice in the Barn (our favourite cottage) and once in the main house. The main house was wonderful, very large and spacious and with a real log fire (which we used even though it was the summer) The Barn is more cosy and compact, but it has an atmosphere of it's own, you just don't want to leave the place.

The cottages were very clean and all the little things you could need are there, the owners even let our kids play with some their own childrens toy's as we hadn't brought enough of our own! We were welcomed with a bottle of wine and fresh baked bread and even a bunch of flowers for my wife! We liked it so much, that we spent our honeymoon their and held our wedding reception. The owners bent over backwards for us and helped in every way possible to make sure our day went well and that our guests were looked after.

Regarding the owners, again, you couldn't ask for better hosts. Two of the most polite, caring, friendly and helpful people we know. If we ever needed anything all we had to do was ask and they provided, even though there was always one of them on site (they live there as well) you never felt like they were in your way at all.

In finishing, the Lake District is our favourite place to holiday in the UK and we always try to book Brackenrigg as we know that it will then be the perfect break!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gothtwinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2006

Brackenrigg sells itself well; a nice website, the inference of high quality accommodation with attention to detail. However, the reality failed to live up to this. While the location was very good and the property attractive we did feel a little like the last pence was being squeezed out of us. The double bed was very very uncomfortable and squeaky (we subsequently found a large hole in the base), the heating was on a very tight schedule, which even when we asked for it to be adjusted it we were cold a lot of the time, the lighting in the kitchen was appalling making cooking difficult, half the light bulbs in the place were blown, not even a roll of toilet paper was provided when we got there, and there was a long note in the instructions detailing the expected total clean of the place (including sink cleaning and dusting!) when we left. While we always leave a place tidy that the weekly price does not include the more detailed cleaning is a bit poor in a place that sells itself as 4 star accommodation. In our whip round with the vacuum I actually found an old plaster from some other guest!
This place could do a lot better and I am sure that there are places in the area where you are not made to feel as if the owners are doing you a favour by letting you stay!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2005

Agree brackenrigg cottages are lovely, scenery is gorgeous. We recently returned from a long weekend, we booked all 4 cottages for 5 famililes (paying for whole week).during our stay we saw very little of the owners, we were very surprised after leaving that they refused to return our housekeeping bond and Iwas sent a letter accusing us of leaving the place filthy. Obviously this is just 1 persons word against anothers, but this spoilt our weekend completely. All my friends are professional working people, I assure you we tidied and cleaned and did not leave any filth. I would not like anyone else to be treated as we were.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMTIG, Owner at Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2008

Oh dear, I am sorry you felt it necessary to write this review despite having had a great weekend. In 7years of business and over 1000 groups of guests, we have only had to withhold a housekeeping deposit 3 times, and always due to the level of damage, which I always explain to the guest concerned.

I do not intend to go into this case in public but would like to use this forum to thank our suppliers in Keswick who were able to assist us so efficiently and at such short notice; Floorchoice (carpet in one cottage), our plumber (repair to toilet flush/cistern, in a different cottage), our drystone waller, and Lakeland Decor (paint supplies).

At such times, we are most concerned about our new guests about to arrive and who are hoping to enjoy a holiday here.

Best wishes
Judy Marsland, Owner, Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2004

Just stayed in the most fantastic holiday cottage! It's near Keswick in the Lake District, on the way towards Grasmere & AmblesideIt was a beautiful converted barn, lovely views of Helvellyn. The walking round there is great.They've got 4 cottages there, the one we stayed in was called Brocklebeck, really pretty with a big picture window. Nice gardens too, we heard owls & saw deer & red squirrels!The owners even left us a nice bottle of wine in the fridge.Definitely worth visiting, the web address is www.##############

3  Thank hsm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
8.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
721 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
734 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
437 reviews
9.4 mi away
Brackenrigg Inn
Brackenrigg Inn
#2 of 3 in Watermillock
592 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Queens
The Queens
#1 of 1 in Warwick-on-Eden
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages

Address: Bracken Rigg, Naddle | Near Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages has four beautiful cottages to suit guests from singles, couples, families and groups up to 16. Stunning views of the Helvellyn range and lovely gardens visited by red squirrels frequently. Delightful walks from the door in the beautiful Naddle and St John's in the Vale valleys, or High Rigg, and Ravens Crag. Brackenrigg Holiday Cottages makes a wonderful base for your Lake District Holiday 3 cottages in our beautifully converted barn: The Sett has 2 bedrooms: 1 double, and 1 twin (with an additional z-bed for a child), open plan living, dining and kitchen, bathroom with shower over the bath. The well equipped kitchen has ceramic hob, oven, microwave, dishwasher, fridge and freezer, SKY TV, ipod doc, dvd, free wi-fi BBQ and patio area, laundry room Bleaberry: sleep sup to 2 (double bed), open plan studio with well equipped kitchen, living dining and lounge area, lovely bathroom, pation and bbq. Sky Tv, dvd, ipod doc, free wi-fi laundry room Brocklebeck: similar to Bleaberry with twin beds 50m away on the same estate: Brackenrigg House: a substantial Victorian Country House: sleeps 10 in 5 generous sized all ensuite bedrooms: 3 double, 2 twin bedrooms. Large living room opening through stained glass window panels to dining room and hand made oak kitchen with range cooker, large fridge freezer, microwave, dishwasher etc. Games room, laundry room with large washing machine and drier. Impressive verandah overlooking fells to Hellvelyn, summer house and BBQ area, CD player, ipod dock, tv, wifi central heating and 2x wood burning stoves. Located in 7 acres of private gardens, meadows, and woodland, in the very heart of the Lake District National Park just 2 miles South of Keswick, and a 10min drive from Grasmere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing