We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarn Hows Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Castlerigg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
125
34
3
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
34
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centreb bparking round the backprivate parkingfull englishoff road parkingwelcoming ownerswithin easy walking distancenew ownersexcellent breakfastquality beddinglovely guesthousequiet locationwarm welcomewalking weekendbase to explorenight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 166 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in the Tarn Howse guest house. Would definitely recommend anybody to stay here. Rooms are immaculate, staff very friendly and helpfull, and the breakfast is delicious.

Hotel is ideally located just a few minutes walk from Keswick centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

In a great position for walking in Keswick. Rooms nicely decorated, with very clean en-suite, though on the small side, and everything you needed with a good selection of toiletries.

Breakfast nice with a good range of choice. Nice friendly hosts.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattRach456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a great couple of nights at the Tarn Hows guest house. The room was cosy, tidy, comfortable and nicely decorated and while there was no en-suite bathroom, we had our own private one a few steps from our door (bath robes were hung on the back) which was immaculately clean and easily the nicest bathroom we used during the 7 days we spent in the Lakes. The room also featured a modern sink and mirror which was obviously very handy. We were located above the front door so naturally we heard the door shutting every now and then but it wasn't a problem past 9-10pm once most guests were back and settled.

Graham and Janet were very welcoming and helpful. Off street parking to the rear of the accommodation was spot on, as was the breakfasts (very nice Cumberland sausages; possibly the best I had while I was there!) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely guest house , about 5 mins walk from centre and park , another couple mins to the lake.
Room 1 was our twin room , which was lovely and had all you needed and a big bathroom as well , perhaps the shower could have been more powerful but thats really splitting hairs.
Beds were very clean and comfy and the breakfast was great , nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petemeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have just had a perfect stay in this lovely guest house. Immaculate throughout, beautifully decorated, spotless dining room with attention to detail. Best full English breakfast. Very warm, caring hosts. Can leave your car in the car park whilst exploring the beautiful surrounds. Thoroughly recommend and hope to go back some time. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews