We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very strange experience”
Review of Cafe Bar 26

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cafe Bar 26
Ranked #109 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very strange experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Lovely room - shame we weren't in it for more than ten minutes! Arrived, were shown a great room and paid for one night. Ten minutes later, a knock on the door - could we change rooms as a couple who had booked had turned up. Two minutes later we were told there was no room as there was a mix up With the bookings. When we tried to say we had already paid, a cash refund was thrust into our hands and we were rushed out into the street and left to find alternative accommodation!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgecurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments about our rooms. We are extremely disappointed that you were unable to stay with us!
Whilst every effort is made to avoid double bookings, this was much the case of one free room being booked twice at almost exactly the same time which was very unfortunate and most rare.
We are deeply sorry that you were put in this position, and apologise profusely for your inconvenience. We also hope that you were able to find alternative accommodation that you were pleased with, and that one day you will visit us again to let us right our wrongs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    40
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
9
111
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Stayed only 1 night but had two superb rooms, immaculate and beautifully appointed. The bathrooms were excellent too, and lots of nice touches throughout. The staff were fantastic too, as we had 3 bicycles and they allowed us to keep them inside, which was great. Breakfast too was all that we could have wanted. Location without comparison too. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJxxx2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Omg the place has a very good feel about it ,but the owner ( MRS STRESS ) did nothing but moan about the staff because they gave me a tab for my 2 night stay she said I had caused alot of problems because her staff did this,HELLO not my problem , I came to relax with my wife not listen to you going on about your incompetence on how to keep your staff trained, I feel sorry for the staff as they are fantastic ( one waitress even laughed about her ) when I turned up I thought somebody had been shot as she went into one of rants ( blaming everydody else ) she was not even sure if I was booked in then said youv'e stayed before "no I said " I had to tell her I had paid a deposit and showed her, " no sir thats a bar bill she said " I pointed to the MISC at the bottom of the bill she then blamed the girl how took my deposit 3 months early !!!!!!!!!!!!!
You feel relaxed sat in the bar and can chill out untill she turns up .Food fantastic, breakfast chef sets the standard on customer care and people skills, hey chef pass it on to you know who!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrbustop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We stayed at Bar 26 for a family weekend in Keswick..our favourite place. This was the second time we have stayed at Bar 26 and have been equally impressed both times. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff are helpful and friendly. The location is ideal and the Cumbrian breakfast was delicious...a good start to the day !! We are staying there again soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topcat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#39 of 173 in Keswick
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#63 of 173 in Keswick
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Bar 26? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Bar 26

Property: Cafe Bar 26
Address: 26 | Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a bustling pedestrian street in Keswick, close to the busy market square and the shores of Lake Derwentwater, Cafe Bar 26 is a relaxed cafe by day and a wine and cocktail bar in the evening Feeling peckish? We serve tasty cooked breakfasts every morning, brunch and lunch from midday until 3.00Pm and tapas and Italian style flatbreads 5.30 - 8.30Pm. We also serve great illy coffee, interesting wines, continental beers, cocktails and champagne all day long! Perfect after a day on the fells or a simply a stroll around the shops. Finally, what better way to end the day than to stay overnight in one of our contemporary en-suite bed and breakfast guest rooms conveniently located above the bar. We have either twin or double rooms available, superbly appointed with modern en-suite facilities and electric showers. Each room is also equipped with a flat screen TV as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Crisp cotton linen throughout - wonderful! Included in the room rate is a varied breakfast menu including pancakes, eggs with ham, spinach or salmon and of course a Full cooked Cumbrian breakfast. There is free wireless broadband available throughout. Keswick is a great destination and Cafe Bar 26 the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cafe Bar 26 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Bar 26 Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing