We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only stayed one night”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Bar 26

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cafe Bar 26
Ranked #109 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only stayed one night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was excellent value for money. The room was lovely, much more comfortable than we were anticipating. . Breakfast very good, staff very helpful and friendly. Although there is no parking , the main car park is very near and the overnight system of paying is very reasonable. A really good find and we hope to return soon

Room Tip: you may prefer a back room ,but to be honest it makes very little difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishlass2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we really do appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    40
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
108
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boldon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

It's so lovely here, crisp white sheets, an interesting view from the window seat, fresh tasty breakfast, tapas and breads on an evening, fantastic wine choices, that we find it very hard to stay anywhere else. This trip was no exception, and the addition of a fan in the room was very welcome in the incredibly hot weather!

Room Tip: Room 2 is my favourite, view over Lake Road from the window seat, half close the Roman blinds and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you Jillian, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was good. We may have to upgrade to air con next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very lovely b and b, much nicer than I had expected. Very lovely breakfast, not greasy at all which I suppose sometimes you'd expect! We would definitely go back, lovely area, beautiful scenery.
They were very happy to rearrange check-in plans to suit us, and gave us our key early. Lovely clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaMe1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are always happy to try and arrange check ins / outs to suit our guests where possible so we are pleased this suited you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Lovely rooms and a central location with everything on your doorstep. We walked down to the river a couple of times. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had a lovely lunch which was delicious and reasonably priced. There was always a nice atmosphere in the bar with a wide variety of ages enjoying a drink or some food. The only problem we had was the parking. If at all possible arrive in the morning. I had read previous reviews and knew there was a car park behind the cafe. However our journey took longer than expected and we got to Keswick at midday on a Saturday. It took us 40 minutes just to get a space in the car park. We drove around for about 20 mins before that but were unable to find a space. We also tried a couple of the suggestions from previous reviews such as parking at 'the heads' but there were no spaces there either!
I think if you are aware of this then it's fine and it only seems to apply to the summer as previous reviewers had no problem with the parking when staying in earlier months.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed most aspects of staying with us but understand your frustrations re parking. Summer is terrible for parking in Keswick generally but we will always try to direct our guests to non chargeable parking while they are staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Booked this hotel rather last minute and wasn't sure what to expect so we were delighted to find what we consider, a little gem, in Keswick. It is in a fantastic central location. The room was refurbished to a very high standard and provided everything we needed for a nights stay. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive and the cafe bar below was a great place to have a coffee or spend a night listening to live music with a cocktail. Couldn't fault anything about this place. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so delighted when our guests enjoy their stay with us so much. Indeed the Live Music and cocktails have become very popular at 26 and we hope that you are able to join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Excellent location, great facilities, booked for our walking trip very friendly and efficient staff, rooms were decorated and finished to a very high standard and hotel is in a perfect central location. The cooked breakfast was also excellent and we will definetly be returning again, the best private b&b I have probably stayed it at a bargain price of just £64 twin room. A++++

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elimeg1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor, we are glad that you had a pleasing stay whilst on your walking trip and look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

this was the third time my wife and I have stayed here, and as always it was delightful. great friendly staff, central location,and very reasonably priced. we are sure to return again. would recommend this lovely place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingtonKopite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It is always really lovely to hear that our guests return to stay with us. Thank you for your very kind comments, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rooms36
Rooms36
#95 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#49 of 176 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Bar 26? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Bar 26

Property: Cafe Bar 26
Address: 26 | Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a bustling pedestrian street in Keswick, close to the busy market square and the shores of Lake Derwentwater, Cafe Bar 26 is a relaxed cafe by day and a wine and cocktail bar in the evening Feeling peckish? We serve tasty cooked breakfasts every morning, brunch and lunch from midday until 3.00Pm and tapas and Italian style flatbreads 5.30 - 8.30Pm. We also serve great illy coffee, interesting wines, continental beers, cocktails and champagne all day long! Perfect after a day on the fells or a simply a stroll around the shops. Finally, what better way to end the day than to stay overnight in one of our contemporary en-suite bed and breakfast guest rooms conveniently located above the bar. We have either twin or double rooms available, superbly appointed with modern en-suite facilities and electric showers. Each room is also equipped with a flat screen TV as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Crisp cotton linen throughout - wonderful! Included in the room rate is a varied breakfast menu including pancakes, eggs with ham, spinach or salmon and of course a Full cooked Cumbrian breakfast. There is free wireless broadband available throughout. Keswick is a great destination and Cafe Bar 26 the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cafe Bar 26 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Bar 26 Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing