We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't miss out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Bar 26

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cafe Bar 26
Ranked #109 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“don't miss out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our all too brief stay in Bar 26 in Keswick. The welcome was friendly and we were pleasantly shown to our room, which is upstairs and above the bar/restaurant. The room is of average size but very well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom is small but adequate for our stay. Breakfast is excellent, as is the selection of wines and beers in the cafe bar itself. Live music can often be playing downstairs but it did not affect my sleep at all. Only parking is a problem, but there are spaces across the road if you look hard enough. Parking in the public car parks s far too expensive. Keswick is an excellent base from which to explore Derwent Water and the surrounding hills - we left our car safely parked for 2 days and walked the area from Cafe Bar 26 - thus no trouble sleeping. There are loads of restaurants and bars for evening meals or a relaxing beer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all feedback and although the parking may be a bit tricky at times, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our cafe bar and it's ambience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    40
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
107
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This Cafe Bar is in a good location on a quiet street in the town centre.Plenty of restaurants and pubs selling grub within a couple of hundred metres.Derwentwater is also close by.The bar has a modern bistro type feel and is busy.Our room,room 3 was cosy and clean.The only problem we had was it was difficult to get comfortable in the bed as the mattress was hard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you liked your stay. We apologise for the firmness of the mattress - we are continually upgrading our rooms so will take this into consideration. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at Cafe Bar 26 in Keswick and it was fantastic! The first time we stayed there it was really only out of desperation; we hadn't arranged any accomodation and nearly all the B&Bs were fully booked, luckily we were having dinner at the Italian restaurant opposite (formally 'Strada' now 'Bel Cibo') and spotted that Cafe Bar 26 had vacancies. After that first stay though we were so impressed that we went back and definately will again the nest time we go to Keswick. We've stayed in room 2 on both occasions and it is lovely, it has a nice large window so is very light and well decorated. It is very clean (I'm very fussy about cleanliness and it met my high standards!). Location-wise it is very close to the lake, town centre and also the fantastic Theatre by the Lake. The breakfast selection was great and they and the staff were very friendly. It is worth bearing in mind that the rooms are directly above the bar so there is a bit of background noise until about midnight, but it's really nothing significant. I should also add that we are a 23 year old couple who are both recent graduates so it is definately a good place for young couple who want somewhere really nice to stay that isn't hugely expensive! We got a good tip from one of the staff members which is worth noting- the car park at the back (although it is free from 7pm-8am) is a little expensive, but there is free street parking only a two minute walk around the corner. All in all, I definately recommend this accomodation, it's lovely!

Room Tip: Room 2 is the only room which we have stayed in, but next time we go we will be specifically asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Room 2 is definitely one of our larger rooms and has a bay window to watch the world go by! We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

AS per other reviews, we'd recommend Cafe Bar 26 - and for the following reasons: -
it's in an ideal position and in a beautiful location. We stayed overnight earlier this week and thought the downstairs bar nice and cosy and the staff very helpful and friendly. The room (2) was a reasonable size although the bathroom is very small - no bath just a shower - and the bathtowels more hand towel size. The room itself is very nice and the heating was on when we arrived around 7 p.m. - which was helpful as it was very cold outside! However, there were only blinds at the windows which had two negative effects - 1) cold draughts were able to get in and 2) light from the shops and street below prevented us from getting a good night's sleep.
Breakfast was very nice, and plentiful, but we thought 9 a.m. is a bit late to start serving it!
So, mixed review but overall we liked the place and as it's in such a convenient position - and amidst such beautiful mountainous countryside - we'd go back again when the weather is warmer - and with our eye masks packed!

Room Tip: Room 2 nice but only has a shower, and blinds at the windows let a certain amount of light in - whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virtanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review. Yes, it can get a bit chilly here up North so we boost the heating when then the temperature drops. We also have extra wool blankets and gas heaters in the rooms for added warmth. Breakfast is served between 9.00am and 9.30am but if ever you need to get out and about earlier we can accommodate that too. Hopefully we will see you in the Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We are regulars at Bar 26. We unashamedly love staying there. Our favourite room is room 2.
Atmosphere & welcome are lovely. Rooms clean & comfortable. Not the biggest rooms but have everything you need. Room 2 has a window seat overlooking Lake Road.
George, Mel & all the other staff make you feel welcome. Breakfast is so tasty & sets you up for a day in the lakes. As long as we can book 26 we will never stay anywhere else in Keswick.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topcat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you again folks - always a pleasure to have you here at 26!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay particularly if you are on holiday. Not so good for business trip as breakfast is served from 9am and noise from the bar is not for those who want an early night. Would recommend it tho for somewhere to go if you had the time to enjoy the facilities. Room is nicely decorated but the bathroom is very small.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, we apologise if you were kept awake! The rooms are directly above the bar so there is a bit of music playing below until 11pm but then it goes quiet. Also we are happy to serve breakfasts a little earlier or later as required if that is more convenient. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Just back home from another lovely stay I. Keswick. Bar 26 . A great place to stay , have a drink and relax after a good days walking. Excellent value for money great service and lovely staff. See ya all in feb.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bricky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your walking trip and stay at 26!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rooms36
Rooms36
#94 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#57 of 177 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#35 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Bar 26? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Bar 26

Property: Cafe Bar 26
Address: 26 | Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a bustling pedestrian street in Keswick, close to the busy market square and the shores of Lake Derwentwater, Cafe Bar 26 is a relaxed cafe by day and a wine and cocktail bar in the evening Feeling peckish? We serve tasty cooked breakfasts every morning, brunch and lunch from midday until 3.00Pm and tapas and Italian style flatbreads 5.30 - 8.30Pm. We also serve great illy coffee, interesting wines, continental beers, cocktails and champagne all day long! Perfect after a day on the fells or a simply a stroll around the shops. Finally, what better way to end the day than to stay overnight in one of our contemporary en-suite bed and breakfast guest rooms conveniently located above the bar. We have either twin or double rooms available, superbly appointed with modern en-suite facilities and electric showers. Each room is also equipped with a flat screen TV as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Crisp cotton linen throughout - wonderful! Included in the room rate is a varied breakfast menu including pancakes, eggs with ham, spinach or salmon and of course a Full cooked Cumbrian breakfast. There is free wireless broadband available throughout. Keswick is a great destination and Cafe Bar 26 the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cafe Bar 26 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Bar 26 Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing