We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe Bar 26 - a Lake District welcome with a contemporary twist”
Review of Cafe Bar 26

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cafe Bar 26
Ranked #123 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 3, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at Cafe Bar 26 and both times we have been made to feel more than welcome. Cafe Bar 26 nestles nicely at the heart of the Lake Districts most popular towns Keswick, when you arrive you get the biggest smile and all the staff including the owners make you feel right at home. The bar area during the day welcomes tourists with coffee and teas with a light menu served, in the evening the bar comes alive with the sound of both locals and visitors sharing a drink or two and relaxing in contemporary comfort on comfy chairs - there is a very continental feel about the place with what can only be compared to the bistros found in Paris and Barcelona. The rooms are perfectly decorated in a clean contemporary look with TV, coffee and tea making, and ensuite facitilities, sparkling clean with the best nights sleep I have had in a long time. Cafe Bar 26 only has four rooms so on arrival you feel quite exclusive as your stay has all the personal touches. Breakfast the following morning consists of cereal, tea, coffee, fruit juices and the tastiest full english any man could wish for.
Beware book in advance though as availability is limited but once booked you will want to stay over and over again, well priced to at £75 for the night for the room which slept two.
Well rocommended

Room Tip: Book in advance though as availability is limite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jones_andrew33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Dear Mr and Mrs Jones
Thank you for your lovely review. We are all extremely pleased that you both had such a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you in the future. I have also passed on your compliments to Andy the chef who was delighted that you enjoyed your breakfasts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 172 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

Just returned from a four night stay at Cafebar 26 and had a fabulous time. The room was more than suitable for our requirements and the staff were very helpful, friendly and informative when advising us on what local activities to undertake. The breakfasts were excellent and always set us up for a full days walking. The bar itself was very smart and had a lovely ambience.
All in all a great location and excellent value for money. Highly recommended.
Mark and Kate Lundy, Rugby

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugbymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Decided to give bar 26 a go for a one night break. Always found the bar one of the best places in Keswick for a relaxing drink after a long walk and was not disappointed by the room. Bathroom small ,shower hot. Had no compaints with bedroom although my wife found it cold. It was explained that since we were above the bar we would should expect the noise to stop after 11.30. It did. Breakfast good the second cup of coffee better than the first. Havent stayed in a B and B in Keswick for a few years,prefering to book a cottage but when we go back for a short break would happily stay at Bar 26.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevie6130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Yet another relaxing weekend away...Staying in our favourite place. All staff as usual friendly & helpful. Delicious breakfast.....We will be back xx

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topcat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Lovely room - shame we weren't in it for more than ten minutes! Arrived, were shown a great room and paid for one night. Ten minutes later, a knock on the door - could we change rooms as a couple who had booked had turned up. Two minutes later we were told there was no room as there was a mix up With the bookings. When we tried to say we had already paid, a cash refund was thrust into our hands and we were rushed out into the street and left to find alternative accommodation!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgecurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCoffeebeans, Manager at Cafe Bar 26, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2010

Thank you for your kind comments about our rooms. We are extremely disappointed that you were unable to stay with us!
Whilst every effort is made to avoid double bookings, this was much the case of one free room being booked twice at almost exactly the same time which was very unfortunate and most rare.
We are deeply sorry that you were put in this position, and apologise profusely for your inconvenience. We also hope that you were able to find alternative accommodation that you were pleased with, and that one day you will visit us again to let us right our wrongs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Stayed only 1 night but had two superb rooms, immaculate and beautifully appointed. The bathrooms were excellent too, and lots of nice touches throughout. The staff were fantastic too, as we had 3 bicycles and they allowed us to keep them inside, which was great. Breakfast too was all that we could have wanted. Location without comparison too. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJxxx2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Omg the place has a very good feel about it ,but the owner ( MRS STRESS ) did nothing but moan about the staff because they gave me a tab for my 2 night stay she said I had caused alot of problems because her staff did this,HELLO not my problem , I came to relax with my wife not listen to you going on about your incompetence on how to keep your staff trained, I feel sorry for the staff as they are fantastic ( one waitress even laughed about her ) when I turned up I thought somebody had been shot as she went into one of rants ( blaming everydody else ) she was not even sure if I was booked in then said youv'e stayed before "no I said " I had to tell her I had paid a deposit and showed her, " no sir thats a bar bill she said " I pointed to the MISC at the bottom of the bill she then blamed the girl how took my deposit 3 months early !!!!!!!!!!!!!
You feel relaxed sat in the bar and can chill out untill she turns up .Food fantastic, breakfast chef sets the standard on customer care and people skills, hey chef pass it on to you know who!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrbustop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
678 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
618 reviews
5.3 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Bar 26? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Bar 26

Address: 26 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $105 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cafe Bar 26 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a bustling pedestrian street in the heart of Keswick, close to the busy market square and shores of Lake Derwentwater, Cafe Bar 26 is a relaxed Mediterranean style cafe bistro by day and a vibrant wine and cocktail bar in the evening with a unique atmosphere. There are also 4 contemporary ensuite rooms conveniently located above the cafe which are available on a room only basis. Feeling peckish? We serve brunch and lunch Tuesday - Sunday 10.00am - 4pm and tapas 4pm - 9.00pm. We also serve great illy coffee, interesting wines, continental beers, cocktails and champagne all day long! Perfect after a day on the fells or simply a stroll around the shops. There is also open mic night every Wednesday from 9.00pm. We are closed Mondays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cafe Bar 26 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Bar 26 Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing