We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and just as good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunsford Guest House
Ranked #47 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2011

When booking this B&B again, following our visit last year, we learned that new owners had taken over. We were welcomed by the owner (Debs?) and were immediately reassured that we had made the right choice. The room was clean, fresh and well-equipped with everything that could be required. Breakfast was even better than last time and we left feeling that we had just stayed with friends. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billyjo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 174 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here and as before the place was just perfect.
we were greeted by the owners upon arrival and greeted like we were family, These people are so friendly you just have to return again and again.

The room standard and that of the breakfast was exactly as the first time we stayed, if not even better.
We can not rate this place highly enough we have always loved the Lake District in general and Keswick in particular but staying at the Dunsford actually increases our enjoyment, A real gem of a place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blacklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Deb and Keith make a nice B&B into a wonderfull homely stay away from home. Nothing is too much trouble for them, be it bringing you a fresh cup of tea when you arrive to booking a restaurant in town for you so you don't have to fight with all the other tourists. Not to be out done, the room we had was warm, comfortable and had enough space such that you didn't feel like you were stuck in a prison cell. The bed was lovely and comfortable too, which is just what you need after hiking 21km's up Skiddaw and back.

We are already planning a return visit (subject to them having availability as they seem to be very popular!)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smanning23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We found the accommodation delightful and the hosts could not do enough for us. Little things like complimentary fruit in the room went a long way and Kieth and Deb deffinately go the extra mile. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simba031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

My wife and I, stayed with my teenage daughter and her friend and had a great time. Firstly the location could not be better. Although a quiet street, at the end of it you are at the start of all the main shops and eating places. The rooms we stayed in had great views and nothing was spared in providing little extra's in the rooms (bottled water, sweets, fruit etc). The breakfast is more than adequate with a great choice (even a veggie option). The owner could not have been more helpful. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Went back to our usual B & B for a long week-end break. We were greeted by new owners Debbie and Keith. They made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble throughout the week-end. Very clean with excellent usual en-suite facilities. Nice additional touches such as flatscreen TV/DVD and wireless Internet. Great breakfast with lots of choice. Faultless, looking forward to going back later in year.

Geoff and Shamila

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elvislives77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Having just spent a rainy weekend in Keswick we were lucky enough to be staying at Dunsford where we experienced a level of service that is so rare in our modern society. The owners could not be more welcoming, they gave advice helped with booking somewhere to eat and provided a breakfast fit for a king. My wife and I have experienced many a Hotel from great to poor and always had some reservations of stopping at a B&B but that has now been put to rest. The Grasmere room was spacious, warm, light and comfortable with a view to the fells and overlooking a quiet street. A two minute walk takes you into the centre just make sure you pack an umbrella. The next time we stay in Keswick will be a simple "Pick up the phone" and call the Dunsford.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glara20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Beckside Guesthouse
Beckside Guesthouse
#46 of 189 in Keswick
168 reviews
5.3 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
658 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsford Guest House

Address: 16 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $101 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Dunsford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsford Guest House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing