We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely B&B in a lovely valley in Lake District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenbank Country House
Ranked #133 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Homely B&B in a lovely valley in Lake District”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My friend and I decided to enjoy the long weekend in August by going to the Lake District for a few days. Its a longer drive than we anticipted from London (6 hours), but well worth the visit. The scenery from the B&B is spectacular with rolling paddocks, nestled in between the surrounding mountains.

I'm really glad we booked this B&B as they were so nice to us. They stayed up later on the Friday in anticipation of us arriving and when we realised we were going to be later in than expected, they left a key out for us. Breakfast was a comprehensive English style with eggs, bacon, toast, beans etc - neither us were able to eat it all, so great for those hungry walkers. We walked down the lane to a local hotel for some drinks and food in the evening.

The room was in the house and so had the high ceilings and windows out to the lakeside. Everything was clean and tidy. The bathroom was all fine. I found it unusual shower and you had to hold the showerhead while you were in the bath.

Neither of us were strong walkers but we gave it a go on one of the local walks. There are quite a few close by and you can choose to do mountains or lakeside.

We had a car so were able to drive easily to windermere to have a look - we were very glad not to stay near there as it was absolutely packed with tourists etc. Keswick was our closest town and had lots of local things to check out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancastrian
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I have just spent 4 brilliant days (not including the weather !) at Greenbank. Janet ~ the owner ~ & her family made me so welcome ( a pot of tea & biscuits as soon as I arrived ) The house is situated in stunning gardens & woodland. Being away from the road makes it very peaceful, so nice to hear the owls calling to each other every night. The views from the windows of Catbells & Maiden Moor were breathtaking. All the rooms....from the delightful lounges with their log fires, the elegant dining room to the spacious bedrooms, were extremely comfortable. A lovely, lovely house ! The breakfasts were scrumptious...fresh fruit of all descriptions, all flavours of yoghurt, cereals, orange juice, fresh coffee, bacon, eggs, mushroom, tomatoes, sausage & beans !!!! Lots of walking needed after that. I didn't use my car as Greenbank is situated in a good position for fell walks or river-side walks & just a 20 min. bus ride to Keswick. Plenty of near-by places to eat in the evening ~ try 'Mary Mount' for an excellent meal. I have stayed here before with family but felt just as comfortable being alone as everyone was so friendly & helpful. A delight.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and we enjoyed the stay. The surroundings are beautiful, and we were very pleased with the room. the shower was only a hand held but the bath was nice after a day's walking.
There is a honesty bar downstairs and we were offered to have our things cleaned if they were too grubby after being out walking. We also had a nice view from the room and plenty of space to move about in. The hostess was very helpful with advice on the area (eating etc) and we took her advice which turned out to be good and honest.

Room Tip: superior rooms have views and tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We are very regular visitors to The Lakes and usually choose to stay in Keswick (or maybe Hawkshead) but thought we would try somewhere a little more out of the way as the towns can be busy at weekends - and I think we have found our perfect destination for the future. Janet was lovely from the minute we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. The (standard) room we had was ideal for us and very well priced. The breakfast was excellent, properly cooked from decent ingredients and if you were wanting to be healthy the cereals and fruit were great too. Having two sitting rooms and some quiet spots inthe gardens meant you could usually find some peace to read or just sit and look across at Cat Bells and High Spy. It was great to explore from the door too, even though we were out of the town we could stil manage without a car if we wanted

Room Tip: We were in room 8, it was cosy with a proper shower cubicle in the en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Greenbank will take your breath away with the most beautiful views. My wife and I stayed in Rockery Cottage, it was really lovely , it was very clean and comfortable and Janet and her sister made us feel very welcome. We would recommend staying there to anyone and can't wait to go back ourselves. The lake district would be lovely anytime of the year.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgieboy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We enjoyed everything about our visit from the warm welcome on arrival to or departure four days later. The rooms were comfortable, and two well furnished lounges with lovely views were a very nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanMaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Very friendly family, clean rooms all with great views. 10 minute drive from Keswick, but far enough away from roads to give peace and quiet. Ideal location for some supreb walks. Catered for a vegatarian with issues. Can't recommend this place enough. Looking forward to returnng at some point.

Room Tip: Contact them directly if you have special requirements, they'll happily try to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon_Burnell_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
398 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
977 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glaramara
Glaramara
#1 of 3 in Seatoller
175 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbank Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbank Country House

Property: Greenbank Country House
Address: Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenbank Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenbank Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing