We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good guesthouse at a great price”
Review of Greystoke House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greystoke House
Ranked #113 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good guesthouse at a great price”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in August with our dog, we were made to feel very welcome, the room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was great. What more could you ask for. . . .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GooleJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    17
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
49
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed for three nights in July. Very clean guesthouse, centrally located and good value for money. Rooms are small but very clean and well-maintained. Owners are friendly, helpful and efficient. Recommended for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

good food friendly owners great location close to town centre but a quiet street

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahameaccrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

There is little externally to distinguish this guest house in a quiet back street about 5 minutes walk from the town centre from a hundred similar ones and what it offers is simply what all good B&Bs should, including cleanliness, a warm welcome, a comfortable bed and a good breakfast. What differentiates it is that, as my heading says, it offers them all, not just some of them. The breakfasts are notably good, as are the showers, and Mark and Helen are most helpful. Other plus points are free wi-fi, dog friendliness and provision for cyclists as well as walkers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanalFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This guest house is one of the cheapest you'll find in the area and is only about 5 minutes walk from the centre of town, but parking nearby is a bit of a lottery. The rooms are clean and comfortable (although the en-suite was tiny), with extremely pleasant and helpful proprietors, who serve you up a wonderful 'cooked to perfection' full english breakfast. The only downside may be if you're a light sleeper, the walls seem to keep very little noise from other rooms out, the plumbing is quite noisy, and the curtains (in the room we were in) are too thin to keep light out. On the whole, Greystoke House is a good, value for money base to explore Keswick and it's beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jupiter2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I stayed with Helen and Mark during the last week of April and Greystoke was a great choice. As a solo traveller it's not always easy to find somewhere that can accommodate you without the ubiquitous overcharge for 'single occupation', but their room rates are very good - even more so as I was staying during Royal Wedding week and into the Bank Holiday weekend ! My single room was lovely - just the right size, very clean and very comfortable and I slept really well - the location is only a short walk from the centre but far enough away to be quiet at night. All the usual facilities - TV, tea and coffee replenished daily (I was also kept well-stocked with bourbon biscuits - cheers !!), washbasin, hairdryer - and as a nice touch, a dressing gown ! And fantastic breakfasts with a really good selection of choices - I was well-fuelled for my daily treks to the Fells. This is a great place for dog owners, and although I wasn't fortunate enough to be able to take a dog of my own, there were several there (including Helen and Mark's lovely labs !) and it was really homely to hear occasional woofs and barks from the canine visitors ! A point to note is that if you stay in a single room, please be aware that it can involve sharing a bathroom/shower, but I had no problem with this. I would certainly recommend Greystoke to anyone who is holidaying solo - I felt really at home and would definitely stay again. Thank you Helen and Mark !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerKTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed here in April 2010 (it would not let me put any earlier than June 2010). Nice place to stay, clean, tidy rooms, breakfast very good in the morning with plenty choice. Parking was a bit difficult due to the built area but then can't have everything when you can walk to Keswick centre in 2 mins!

We had our dog stay with us and they were very accomodating of him, even a little area for him to eat/place his water bowl so as not to mess the carpet! Bless!

We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#67 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Larry's Lodge
Larry's Lodge
#76 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#86 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#90 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystoke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystoke House

Property: Greystoke House
Address: 9 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a non-smoking, dog friendly Bed & Breakfast, situated in a quiet location within walking distance of Keswick town centre. Greystoke House is ideally located to visit a variety of local attractions including the Theatre by the Lake, Keswick museum and The Cars of the Stars, and provides the perfect base for walking and exploring this beautiful area of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Greystoke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing