We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other pubs/inns/hotels are available..................”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #85 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Oh dear, we have been staying at the Kings Head fairly regularly since 2008.
The place has changed - A lot. Unfortunately not for the better.
It is still clean, and the bed we were in was comfortable, but the room was so,so damp and cold.
The bar food - Expensive for what it is and they serve chips (6 or 7 to a portion) in a "Jenga" style, or a little galvanised bucket. What's all that about - It's a pub!
The beer is also relatively expensive, and not as well kept as it used to be.
I think that a lot of other people have had similar experiences as the pub itself, the hotel and the restaurant, were consistently empty.
On the good side, dogs are still welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhantomPigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 574 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Myself and my partner have had a lovely weekend at the Kings Head. The service, the rooms and the meals were absolutely fabulous and they had a very good choice of wines. Adam and his team couldn't do any more than they did to make everyone who came into the hotel very welcome.We loved the log fire in the residents lounge it was brilliant and the room was so cosy and welcoming. This hotel is in a lovely area with beautiful views and not far at all from Keswick. I would most definitely recommend this to anyone, Was a lovely experience and we will most definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Having been booked in here by my work. I was booked in for a nights stay. I arrived at teatime and checked in. looked quaint with wood panelled walls etc. I walked up to my single room and my heart sank. The room was tired looking and very small and narrow and had the feel of a boat cabin. The shower took a few minutes to heat up. But once warm was great to freshen and warm up after a long days work. I went down to the bar for a meal. The bar was empty and silent. I sat alone for a minute or so before I was served. The menu looked simple and a little pricey. I chose the 2 courses for £15.95 I ordered sirloin steak to be followed by sticky toffee pudding. When it arrived I couldn't believe it. I was given a rather tough steak finger 3 onion rings with a metal bucket with 7 chips. The steak was tiny. I've had bigger steak sandwiches! Then followed a rather unpleasant dessert. I only ate that as I had not eaten all day and this was the only place around for miles. I went back to my converted cupboard to bed. The walls were paper thin with all the noise from the corridor and the room next door. I had a restless nights sleep. I got up in the morning left my key at reception then went straight to my car and drove off. I wasn't even prepared risk breakfast and drove to Keswick to find a cafe before I started work.
Just because it's close to a nice area isn't an excuse to rip people off. I don't mind paying out for good food. But paying a lot for poor quality food and service is a big turn off.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank tvcrew80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Have just stayed again at the Kings Head with our little dog. This time we were in the delightful front facing room with a four poster bed and roll top bath. The log fire in the residents lounge is a cosy place to gather and chat with other residents about the adventures of the day. The food is always just great, a good steak menu and a good chardonnay ... what's not to like? The staff are always lovely - this time we were very well looked after by Adam, and the lovely Alex and Maria. They took the time and trouble to make us feel like were getting very personal service. Thanks to everyone at Lake District Inns who make the bookings. We'll be back before too long I hope.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view of the fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosalindOdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Short trip to the Lake District, staying at the Lodge down the road which recommended The Kings Head. The food was exceptional, lovely quirky feel and great service from Adam and the team. And refreshing to see how good value it was, we would have happily paid more. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were staying down the road at The Lodge in the Vale and called in for a few drinks and a snack one evening. We were made to feel very welcome and the bar staff were happy to chat.

The drink and food selection is varied with options ranging from a quick snack to a full three course meal however it is a little expensive; we had a cheese board and four drinks and left with a £22 bill!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a lovely couple of days here. The Inn is full of character, our room (room 4 ) was well furnished and decorated and very cosy.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We ate here both evenings and the food was great, there was also a good selection of ales.
We are looking forward to a return visit as soon as possible, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houtingdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#16 of 17 in Keswick
189 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
475 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
551 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $91 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing