We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and pleaseant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #88 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful location, standing on its own, miles from anywhere. Arrival and check-in simple and quick from friendly staff. Room decent size, nice lay out, complimentary chocolate on pillow, complimentary toiletries in bathroom. Satellite TV, kettle, tea/coffee.
ALL very clean, bathroom tiny but very nice power shower with plenty hot water.
Food in restaurant very VERY good quality, roughly £10 a meal. Drinks in bar quite expensive, but nice surroundings and friendly staff.

Now the bad, only one, the bed, was two singles pushed together, leaving a dip in the middle, and neither single was comfortable at all. Shame this was a big let down to an otherwise great hotel.

Room Tip: As a couple you might want to specify DOUBLE bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 583 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Can highly recommend The Kings Head Hotel.We stayed for one night but have stayed longer before.Each time the the service was fantastic and friendly.On arrival we were told we were booked into room 3 but room 5 was available to, so we were given the keys to both so we could decide which we like best(nice touch).Both rooms were very nice and laid well and full of charm.

We ate in the restaurant and had a wonderful meal,Steak cooked perfectly followed by a fantastic sticky Toffee Pudding.All areas of the hotel are decorated nicely but retain the old coaching inn theme.Good selection of real ales in the bar made it even better for me.

Big thanks to all the staff ,who made both our stays here very special.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mickjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at The Kings Head in Thirlspot on my own for one night on 10th June. At £40 for a double with breakfast, I wasn't expecting too much - I was totally surprised by this gem.
On arrival at the lovely looking old pub in a superb setting on Thirlmere, I was greeted courteously & promptly by the manageress. I explained that I wanted to leave early in order to spend all day on the Fells - she said she could leave a continental breakfast out for me. Box 1 ticked!
I also explained that I might be doing a 2 day trek via Honister (don't ask) - she offered for me to leave my car at the hotel, Box 2 ticked!
I was impressed by the decor and ambience of the hotel. My room, although a little small (what do you expect in an old hotel) was perfectly pleasant with a great view over Thirlmere. Uneven floor added to the charm. The ensuite had the best shower I have ever experienced - mega-powerful.
Had the 3 course steak menu for £16.95 - very nice Caesar salad, then big, tender pork chop with vegetables cooked just right (not overcooked) and some really delicious ice-cream. All very nicely presented. Again polite and friendly service.
After a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed, I was up at 5 in order to leave by 6. Breakfast was left in the lounge area downstairs as promised. Croissant, bread, 3 big chunks of very nice cheese and some grapes - just what was required.
Overall - excellent. I put a lot of strength on the simple values of politeness, friendliness, and helpfulness - these were all met. I'll be back - thanks

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ultra_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Generally satisfactory, if overpriced, sunday lunch. Meat was of a good quality, roast potatoes were good, and veg and was fresh. Yorkshires were home made but a little burnt. We were charged £4.50 for two half pints of orange and lemonade!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Restraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It is a great place to stay with fantastic views the food is also very good except the breakfast seem a little on the small side n tea and coffee is poor . The alcoholic drinks are a fair price too . The let down is traffic going by at five in the morning ! But if you can sleep through that your stay will be great !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeduguid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the lovely views and food that the King's Head offers.
We try to cater for everyone at breakfast with a menu which offers smaller (poached eggs with Cumbrian Ham) and larger options (full cooked breakfast) as well as a wide range of buffet items to accompany the cooked options. Pots of breakfast tea are made to order and we use ground filter coffee from a reputable coffee merchant in Cumbria.
The King's Head is perfectly situated between Keswick and Grasmere, most traffic passes between 8am and 6pm. I'm sorry that your sleep was desturbed, however hope that this didn't take away from your stay with us and that you will visit again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have eaten here before but this is our first stay.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and our room although a little small was very well presented
and very clean. Excellent power shower, lovely and hot too !!
We had our evening meal in the bar area and found it good value for money and very tasty with a good choice on offer. The accomodation is full of charm and character and the views from both our room and the breakfast room were truly wonderful.
The only down side was our bed ...... think a new mattress would improve the stay, could feel some springs sticking through. Don't forget the hotel is on a busy main road and no double glazing!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review.

Great to hear that you enjoyed the amenities and wonderful views at the King's Head and that you described your meal as "good value for money and very tasty". I will check the mattress and take necessary steps straight away.
Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is not actually in Keswick, but in a place called Thirlspot, just north of Thirlmere on the A591. We stayed here over Easter on an Easy Break package. The hotel is an old coaching inn and has has plenty of character with low beams and panelled walls. The staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the room above the entrance which was a reasonable size and very warm, but the big problem was the lack of space in the en suite. The shower was very good but there was no room between the WC and the basin which made life very difficult.....! It appears many of the rooms are like this. To be fair this was the only problem we had. The views from the breakfast room up the valley were superb. The choice of items for breakfast was considerable and the quality of the food was very good. We had dinner each night and despite the fact that we were on an all-inclusive package there were no restictions on the choice from the menu and the meals were superb. The hotel is in a great location for low and high level walks. The snow made for an interesting adventure but it also added to the beauty of the place.

Room Tip: Watch out for the tiny en suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smoggy_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review following your stay at the King's Head.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the period features of the coaching inn. Unfortunately the small en-suites come as part and parcel of the 17th century building!

We hope you will return to enjoy the beautiful views once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#16 of 17 in Keswick
199 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
478 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
316 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Travellers Rest Inn
The Travellers Rest Inn
#7 of 20 in Grasmere
471 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#65 of 189 in Keswick
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $90 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing