We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #85 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, a snow weekend, walking and chilling. A great base close to the fells, Keswick n Grasmere. Food very nice, breakfasts good with plenty of choice. Room 4 is a four poster which is a great size and one of the few rooms with a deep bath. On the front so great views, albeit the road is busy with traffic noise. Staff very friendly n helpful certainly recommend it.
The place is a pub n restaurant too and has been recently refurbished and new management. Bar area has lost the traditional charm it used to have which was sad as it is rather contemporary now, however is still welcoming and worth a visit. No more roaring log fires but a good place to visit in the good weather!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueC0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 589 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

A belated review - stayed 5 days over christmas 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very freindly, helpful and welcoming staff, excellent accommodation. Great base for going walking and on main bus route. Breakfasts were ok, only had one evening meal which was fine (although 'chips' only just made it into the plural!) and the beer was excellent. On the whole I wouldn't hesitate to stay again, sun or no sun.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Steve
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The King's Head over the Christmas period. We are glad to hear that you found the accommodation "excellent" and that the staff were "helpful and welcoming". We hope that you will enjoy sunshine on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Spent 4 day break in this delightful hotel. Delightful experience with good food, wines and excellent service from staff who were extremely helpful and pleasant. Room was very comfortable and clean. We were lucky with the weather - managed a sail on Ullswater and visited so many small villages and towns. Unfortunately cannot walk at the moment so missed out on what I'm sure would have been a great experience. Will be back again!

Room Tip: Most rooms face the main road but are quiet in the evening. Lovely views from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the King's. Hopefully you'll be mobile again soon and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have found that the kings head at thirlspot is a lovely place to go after exploring the wonders of the lakes. The staff cannot do enough for you,especially christian & anke! We called in most days for a couple of hours for a drink (or 2).The fires are always roaring, the hospitality always welcoming & the local food and ales always fulfilling. They are very dog friendly and treated our westie like a king! If you are in thirlmere or just passing through........make the time to call in ,....you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisgailbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We try to go that extra mile to keep our customers happy! We hope that you visit the Lakes again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were on our way down from Keswick to Windermere and popped in for a sport of lunch. We had the basket meal of Cumberland sausage and chips which was served promptly and was a reasonable price. The beer was on good form and again did not break the bank. There was a good wine selection. I'd certainly stop there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

We are glad to hear that we proved to be a good choice of place to "stop off" and that you enjoyed both the food and drinks. Hopefully you'll pop in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just returned from a lovely night's stay at The Kings Head, good food, great service and ambiance. A lovely room (although ensuite is very small) it has a great shower. Just what's needed after long walks with the dog in brilliant winter sunshine!

Room Tip: Although the road noise didn't wake us, if you like to wake late in the mornings, a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrackenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your visit. We have been really lucky with the gorgeous winter sun this year! Hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Having passed this building many times we decided to try the lunchtime menu there.
We were not let down as it was most tasty.
I tried the cumberland sausage with fries, which was very flavoursome indeed. One of the nicest I have had in quite a while. My wife had the soup of the day which was also tasty, but she did mention the bread was top class.
The small dining room we were in was full of character and comfortable.
Just to mention the toilets were immaculate which goes a long way.
We will try this place again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesdawsonprudhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review.
I am very pleased to hear that you were most satisfied with your visit and that you enjoyed good quality food in pleasant surroundings. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#16 of 17 in Keswick
199 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
318 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Travellers Rest Inn
The Travellers Rest Inn
#7 of 20 in Grasmere
474 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#63 of 189 in Keswick
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $66 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing