We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" A JEWEL IN THE LAKES!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #81 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have found that the kings head at thirlspot is a lovely place to go after exploring the wonders of the lakes. The staff cannot do enough for you,especially christian & anke! We called in most days for a couple of hours for a drink (or 2).The fires are always roaring, the hospitality always welcoming & the local food and ales always fulfilling. They are very dog friendly and treated our westie like a king! If you are in thirlmere or just passing through........make the time to call in ,....you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisgailbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We try to go that extra mile to keep our customers happy! We hope that you visit the Lakes again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 605 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were on our way down from Keswick to Windermere and popped in for a sport of lunch. We had the basket meal of Cumberland sausage and chips which was served promptly and was a reasonable price. The beer was on good form and again did not break the bank. There was a good wine selection. I'd certainly stop there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

We are glad to hear that we proved to be a good choice of place to "stop off" and that you enjoyed both the food and drinks. Hopefully you'll pop in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just returned from a lovely night's stay at The Kings Head, good food, great service and ambiance. A lovely room (although ensuite is very small) it has a great shower. Just what's needed after long walks with the dog in brilliant winter sunshine!

Room Tip: Although the road noise didn't wake us, if you like to wake late in the mornings, a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrackenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your visit. We have been really lucky with the gorgeous winter sun this year! Hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Having passed this building many times we decided to try the lunchtime menu there.
We were not let down as it was most tasty.
I tried the cumberland sausage with fries, which was very flavoursome indeed. One of the nicest I have had in quite a while. My wife had the soup of the day which was also tasty, but she did mention the bread was top class.
The small dining room we were in was full of character and comfortable.
Just to mention the toilets were immaculate which goes a long way.
We will try this place again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesdawsonprudhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review.
I am very pleased to hear that you were most satisfied with your visit and that you enjoyed good quality food in pleasant surroundings. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Myself, husband, sister and brother-in-law just returned from 2 nights, dbb. I read reviews before booking and found them rather mixed. All I can say, I shouldn't have worried, as we found the staff very friendly and helpful and the food was wonderful. Our room was clean and nicely decorated and furnished (no view as at back, but didn't spend much time in it, even though snow and rain, why would you in the lakes). Sister's room at front (so nice view) but in original part of building, so typically slopey floors and beams, but they found it ok.No hotel is perfect but we would definately go back and recommend to friends.

Potter and Wilcock family

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Kristina
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are truly lucky to be situated in such a beautiful part of the world, which is lovely come rain or sunshine, but, clearly, other aspects also contributed to your enjoyable stay. We continuously strive to improve our standards and your comments are very encouraging to myself and the staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked 2 nights through Booking.com £40 per night per room inc breakfast. What a bargain! Booked it! Happy days! Problem was, morning after hotel rang, said there had been a mistake and wanted more money from us... hmmm smelt a rat as we had contract with booking.com and sercured price with them. Rang and told booking.com about this, they were not happy at all and contacted hotel to ensure they didn't ask us for more money. This event was not mentioned when we checked in and we paid the agreed rate of £80 for the 2 nights. Upon arrival the staff in the hotel were friendly, professional, polite and helpful. The room was warm, cosy, clean and had all the comforts you would expect, nice tv, tea & coffee, kettle, nice powerful shower and clean bathroom. The hotel is old and abit creaky but what you would expect :-) The breakfast was nicely cooked and hot, we had full english, toast, fruit juice - all very nice and staff very attentive. In the evening, We ate in the bar and the food was lovely - we had chicken livers, bacon & mushrooms with garlic bread and duck in ginger, chilli and spinach salad. For main Homemade burger and chips. All the food was hot and cooked perfectly, the starters were very nice and the burgers were great too! big burger in ciabatta bread with bacon and cheese with the nicest big cut homemade chips i've ever had - yum! It also had a nice salad with mustard? i think... dressing. For pudding we had Belgium chocolate pub with ice cream - again really nice. The staff in the bar were very attentive, polite and hard working. Anca and a chap with dark hair were on shift when we were there and we have no complaints, they were both chatty and professional. The prices in the bar are not the cheapest but its the price you would expect for a pub in this location. After a bit of a dodgy start, we ended up having a lovely couple of days.

Room Tip: Away from main stairs as they are creaky....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Meg
Your thorough review of your visit is much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We have made a big effort to make sure that the food standards are as good as they can be and it is reassuring to read that the food stood out on your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from a two night break at our once favourite lake district hotel, The Kings head used to be a warm welcoming lakeland inn but am afraid to say that it is now just a very bland run of the mill very very average pub/hotel, the staff are all now eastern european, i have nothing against this they all work very hard and are efficient but there is no charm, no warm welcome when you arrive or cheery goodbye when you depart, no hint of Cumbriam hospitality and i should know what this should be like as i am a Cumbrian, the breakfast was stone cold and on our 2nd morning i chose the Kippers in the hope they would be hot, sorry not available was the rsponse on ordering... really really poor experience we will not be returning...end of an era

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Simon
I am most disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your recent visit to the King's Head Inn. I am sorry that you didn't find it warm and welcoming and also surprised as most of our staff have been with us for a number of years and they are very well trained and efficient. I will look into this matter and establish who was on duty during your stay.
I am glad to let you know that we have recently employed a new chef and have already received plenty of excellent reviews for both bar and restuarant meals.
I hope that you can overlook this one incident, remember all of your previous enjoyable stays at the KIng's Head and reconsider your dicision. Please contact us directly for the best possible rate for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#18 of 22 in Keswick
491 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#14 of 22 in Keswick
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#21 of 22 in Keswick
200 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
579 reviews
4 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $96 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Head Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing