We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #84 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went for a meal as we were staying at the lodge in the vale (nearby), I had the pheasant which was tough but nice! My boyfriend had the peppered duck which was also nice. The staff are foreign so there is a language barrier and I would advice the staff to employ 1 english speaking employee as one member of staff couldn't understand what butter was. other than that nice and OK value for money. (£22 each with drink and pudding).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Mica
Thank you for your review of the King's Head.
I'm glad that you had an enjoyable meal in the bar restaurant and that you thought it was value for money. We employ staff from various places including England and Romania. I expect you had contact with one of our trainee staff members on your visit. There is always a senior member of staff on duty to assist with any issues that might arise. I apologise if you weren't entirely satisfied with the service. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    179
    110
    49
    47
See reviews for
85
293
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I took advantage of the Christmas special and spent 4 nights at the hotel. We were in Room 4 with a 4 poster bed. We found that the food was of a very high quality, the room was very comfortable and clean and the staff were very polite and helpful.

We were very pleased with our stay at the Kings Head and would definitely return- especially if we could have room 4 :)

Room Tip: Room 4 has a four-poster bed over the St John's Restaurant so is quite quiet. The room is large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColletteHaworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Collette
Thanks for the highly complimentary review. We are delighted that you enjoyed everything about your stay and that you had a terrific festive break. We hope you come back to visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have stayed with friends at the King's Head and its sister Inn, The Travellers Rest at Grasmere on very many occasions during the last ten years and returned to both of theme several times during 2012. The rooms are good and comfortable and I have always found the staff friendly and helpful. The beer is excellent and the situation of both Inns is ideal for walking. I note other comments about the size of the rooms but this is an old coaching inn so guests should not be surprised that they are rather small! They offer excellent value for money. Several rooms have been modernised at the Travellers Rest during the last year and there is work planned for the Kings Head which will enhance the 'rest areas'. Thanks to Lana, Derek and the team - best wishes for 2013, see you soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshhillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are really happy to hear that you continue to enjoy staying at the King's Head Inn. It is indeed set in a beautiful part of the Lakes with so many choices for walking. I am happy to let you know that we have nearly completed the bar restaurant and residents lounge refurbishment at the King's Head and it looks great. We are really excited about other future upgrades also. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I note the less than favourable recent reviews but when I have stayed here, which has been 2 or 3 times in recent months, I have no compaints.
Firstly, the room rates are always more than reasonable bearing in mind the location, and the service always first class. I guess the rooms are a little cramped but this is more than compensated by the the olde worlde feel. No complaints on evening meal and breakfast excellent.
No problem in staying in future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estragon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated!
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We and our friends regularly meet half way between Lincolnshire and Fife for family holidays. With a rare opportunity of a child-free weekend to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversaries we asked around for recommendations and unfortunately the King's Head at Thirlmere was decided upon. Our initial impression on arrival was of a cosy coaching inn. However, things went downhill from then on. Rooms were cold, windows draughty, beds uncomfortable, decor extremely shabby (to say the least - there were cracks in the walls with chewing gum stuck in!!), mildew on curtains, rooms serviced poorly and late in the day; trays, linen and rubbish on the landing at 5pm, the list goes on. Worst of all, on complaining the duty manager offered a 10% reduction. Initially we were over-charged (twice for a bottle of wine) and when the final bill was presented things didn't add up so we checked. The bill showed 10% off and each item was correct but mysteriously £20 was added (not itemised) onto the total. The same happened to our friends' bill. Our bill was £300 per couple, not a cheap weekend away. We were so unhappy I attempted many times to contact Mr Sweeny (the owner) to complain. Mr Sweeny was never available and never returned my calls.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel! There is a MacDonald hotel nearby and with their special deals was no more exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahS_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keswick hotels

Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Should have read the 1st November review but we had been there before (about 2 years ago) and stayed there once several years ago and on both occasions it was good. We also ordered the Steak Menu which was truly awful!
It was a cold day so we thought a bowl of soup would be nice to start with - the soup of the day was duck which consisted of shredded duck chucked into a tepid liquid which also contained rock hard bits of tinned vegetables accompanied by a bit of cold bread and two hard lumps of butter. When the plates were cleared we said the soup was not very warm but this provoked no reaction so presumably this is the norm.
We had ordered one pork chop and one ham steak for main course but were told that there were no chops so we settled for 2 ham steaks. The ham was reheated (although to use the word "heated" is over generous - rather it had been placed in the vicinity of heat for a second or two) and accompanied by 3 onion rings a mushroom and a tomato. Some strange potato based things were also served in a little bucket - the menu suggested they were hand cut chips but they bore absolutely no resemblance either in appearance or taste to any chip known to man!
When I came to pay the bill I said the meal was very poor but again it was clear that they really couldn't give a toss.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeland130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed six nights in the King's Head Hotel during November 2012. I found the hotel via a 'late deals' site - a great deal at £30 per night on a Bed and Breakfast basis.

Apart from being a bit on the small side, the room was ideal. Good-sized flat screen TV mounted on the wall, comfortable bed, en-suite shower room, very clean and tidy, nice and warm, plenty towels and plenty tea and coffee.

Breakfast was superb! A good selection of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, etc. as well as a choice from full cooked breakfast, full cooked veggie breakfast, kippers, etc.

I also dined in the hotel ordering a three-course meal from the steak menu. The food was excellent and very good value.

Throughout my stay the room was kept very clean and tidy, with regular top-ups of tea and coffee as well as replacement towels as required.

I was worried that the hotel had no drying facilities for wet walking clothes. However, the heating in the rooms was so good that everything always dried out well for the following day.

The hotel itself is a fantastic old building. It has lots of atmosphere with a great wee residents lounge with wood-burning stove. My only criticism is that the public bar has no atmosphere. It has been "modernised" and now feels out of place with the rest of the hotel.

All the staff I encountered were friendly.

The hotel is ideally placed for walking in the Lakes. Walk from the door of the hotel to the summit of Helvellyn. Keswick is also a short drive away (circa 5 miles) where there are loads of gear shops and a great selection of take away options.

There is also lots of parking which is free.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. Looking forward already to using this hotel on my next trip to the Lakes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay at The King's Head Inn. It sounds like you enjoiyed every aspect of your stay! You will be glad to hear that we are starting a refurbishment project in the public bar area, which will be completed by the time of your next visit in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
4.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#34 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Hotel
Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing