We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Sticky Pudding” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #90 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sticky Pudding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Made a recent visit for a 3 night stay. I booked via one of the discount booking web sites and paid £190 for a twin en-suite room overlooking the front of the building. I arrived and there was nobody on the desk, but instructions were left on how to get help.

Booking in was quite quick and painless although it lacked a little warmth. The room was quite comfortable with twin beds although it was a little small. The bathroom was exceptionally small with a hand basin, enclosed shower and toilet. The shower was quite powerful and warm without the usual difficulty in trying to regulate the temperature.

The room was a little tired with various marks on the walls, giving it a tired feel. Mildew was present within the shower cubicle particularly on the sealant joints etc. The extractor also didn't work.

Room cleaning was a little hit a miss, with a pint glass that I had left by the tea tray not being taken in the morning. The hand basin had also been overlooked. The standard improved to a good standard, over the next two days.

Although the room looked out over the front of the building and ultimately over the A591 the traffic noise was not an issue at all.

The food on the whole was really good quality. I ordered scrambled eggs one morning which was served with a green garnish mixed in. It looked a little strange but tasted really nice. I ate there twice in the evening and on both occasions the food was of a very high quality. Although if you ordered outside of the set menu ie T-Bone Steak, an additional charge was made which pushed the price up. Ordering side dishes also pushed the price up. A two course meal with a drink and a couple of side dishes was a good £30 a head. Quite high when you consider that a similar meal would have been cheaper in town. One high point was the best Sticky Pudding I have tasted for ages!

The overall cleanliness of the hotel was good, however, there was a strong smell of a bleach type substance in the morning when the stone floors had been leaned, which was quite strong.

To sum up, overall the money I paid was about spot on, although I would have been a little unhappy if it was any higher. Accommodation, was of a good quality as was the food. I would stay there again, although I would probably choose a larger, more recently decorated room. The best way to sum it up is that I would like to try an alternative first, but the sticky toffee pudding was really good.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krustyvab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your recent visit to the King's Head Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you especially enjoyed the food, singling out the sticky toffee pudding! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    174
    108
    46
    47
See reviews for
81
277
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had two nights at the Kings Head on a package. It was good value. Bed, breakfast and evening meal. Sunday and Monday. A bottle of house red thrown in on the first night. Lovely spot right at the foot of Helvellyn (sp?) a great situation for walking. Bus stop right outside of hotel. Old fashioned sort of place which is in need of a redecortaon in places. Eclectic furniture added to the charm. But it was comfortable, clean and had lots of spaces to eat, drink and relax. Lots of real ale available. Bedroom was fine and it was quiet - we had a four poster bed and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were excellent. The food was good and there were large portions for the hungry. Good but limited and sensible choice on the menue but a word of warning about the homemade steak and kidney pudding. Only order one of theses if you have just completed Scarfell, Great Gable and Helvellyn in one day or intend to attempt Shackelton's feat in the antarctic the next day. The one moan was the hand held shower. I ended up spraying the bathroom with water it just needed an attachment on the wall to fix it to. Had an excellent deep bath next day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fourposter bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I will definitely consider your suggestion regarding the hand held shower. Further to your comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location, accommodation, real ales, food and service at the King's Head and hope it won't be too long before your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We ate on two nights in a row; I had the steak and fish and chips.

The sirloin steak was exceptionally tasty, although it was very fatty at either end I had to leave about a 5th of it. The fish and chips was excellent - crispy batter, tasty chips and yummy tartare sauce.

The atmosphere was good, the place was clean and the service prompt for starters and mains. On both nights it took over half an hour to get a the dessert brought to the table, even with a prompt from us. On the second night we went to go to the bar for a second time to get a refund just as it arrived. The cheese and biscuits was nothing special; little flavour, plastic-texture. The sticky toffee pudding in contrast was lovely.

Overall it's a place of contradictions, with many things done well, but too many things missing the mark leaving an impression of inconsistency.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckingtonroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

A friend and I stayed here at the beginning of Oct 2012 in a twin room before a long 6 day hike in the lakes.

Its a very old coaching in next to what you can imagine is a somewhat ancient highway linking Keswick to Ambleside. The surroundings are stunning North, South, East and West. We were upstairs halway downa long thin passageway that only added to the history of the building.

The rooms, although old, are well kept and clean and have all you need, it was also very warm and we slept with the window open. The ales at the bar are a plentiful array of Cumbrians and we tried them all, they were very well kept and served.

Food was also plentiful and at a good price. We were warned about the wait for food as it was a Saturday night. In fact it was 10 minutes which is quicker than any place I ever eat at home. Breakfast in the morning had a fantastic view and the classical music playing in the large dining room was the perfect start to the day

If you are looking for a Coaching Inn in this area, as a family or with friends with good food and drink. You can't go far wrong here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanDThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Room was compact but cannot complain on price, all neat and tidy. I thought the evening meal selection was a tad on the pricey side but no complaints on breakfast which was excellent value for money. Staff very helpful, and whilst I liked the overall lay out of the building and the features I suspect its a bit too "touristy" in the Summer months.
A word of warning: my mobile phone did not work in this area and the pay phone was out of order

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estragon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Dont choose the family room just like being in the engine room on a ship until 11.30 pm when all of the bar /kitchen equipment is swithed off.
Shower room many sharp broken tiles on the floor
Lumpy double bed
Very tatty tired furniture
Coat hooks hanging off door
Hairs in the shower tray
Lounge ceiling fell down during our stay
Really needs a make over, looks like a 90s paint finish experiment
Tv on int the bar when no one watching, it just diners in!
At breakfast the scrambled egg was just like someone had taken a fork to a egg that was frying and given it a strir when others complained the waiter said thats just how they come,perhaps the dont do scrambled egg in Poland or wherever
Was offered 10% of bill when complained !!
One positive bar food good !!!

Room Tip: Wait until refurb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NKPCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keswick hotels

Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent a lovely few day here. It is a very old building so you must be prepared for that. Our bedroom had a 4 poster and it was a very big comfortable bed. The TV worked perfectly and was easy to use. Temperature in the room was spot on. A lovely shower. Slight faults being that the toilet was a little close to the shower and the water whilst hot enough was not over hot. They were serving 5 excellent Jennings Real Ales in fine condition. Comfortable seating areas. The meals were served to our requests spot on with a very varied menu. The staff are very smart and really helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast were perfect with a wide choice range. There is a large car park. The scenery is terrific.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road can be a little noisy until 10 pm. Also the rooms to the right as you fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#62 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Hotel
Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing