We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic, highly recommended.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Badgers Wood Guest House
Ranked #33 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic, highly recommended.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed twice now and both times have been absolutely fantastic. Andrew and Anne are the perfect hosts, the rooms are the cleanest we have ever stayed in and the breakfast really is the best, this B&B is first class. We cannon recommend Badgers Wood highly enough, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
140
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Badger's Wood from 5th August 2013. Andrew and Anne were perfect hosts and have a good knowledge of places to visit, eat etc. Badger's Wood has the advantage of being one of the few b and b's in Keswick with private parking located just across the street. Badger's Wood is a 3 storey building and our room was located on the top floor with wonderful views. The room and bathroom very clean and comfortable. We liked the fact that a jug of fresh milk was provided in a small fridge in the hall from 2 - 7pm . Breakfasts were pre -ordered and guests have their own designated table in the dining room. After cooking the breakfasts each morning Anne came in to the dining room to chat to all the guests which we appreciated. Would recommend this b and b .

Room Tip: Rowan room on top floor has stunning views of fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you need a trip to Keswick, look no further than Badger's Wood B&B. Anne and Andrew are fantastic hosts who make the stay comfortable and enjoyable. The guest house is immaculate with several added extras included. The breakfast is delicious!!! Situated at the top of Stanger Street, it has wonderful views of Skiddaw, Cat Bells...the list goes on and is in the perfect location for Keswick town centre. Andrew is a fountain of knowledge when it comes to walking the fells so no one should get lost! The place is a hoot...this is an inside joke that Anne and Andrew will understand. Don't go anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in Keswick many times and have to rate 'Badgers Wood' as by far the best! Anne and Andrew, the owners, really do go the extra mile to make your stay with them, the best experience possible.

Their attention to every detail can only be described as impressive. From the moment we arrived, we were looked after and made to feel very welcome. Their hospitality is very genuine and they instantly make you feel very valued, without being over the top.

Badgers Wood is perfectly located and is literally a two minute walk into the town centre. It is absolutely immaculate and the bedrooms, which are tastefully decorated, are very well presented throughout.

Breakfast was delicious and again very organised and very efficiently served, with a really lovely ethos present. There was a wide choice of breakfasts available, including fruit, cereals and cooked breakfasts. We had full English breakfasts, which were just to die for!

So, to sum this little haven up in one sentence, by far the best in Keswick and we know because we have stayed in many places in Keswick. Would we go again? You bet we would! Fantastic !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandArty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed two nights here during a visit to the Lake District. It was a great location near downtown and the beautiful lake. The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathroom was luxurious compared to other places we stayed. Andrew and Ann were very helpful, particularly with parking our car after a harrowing day on the road. Wifi worked in the rooms and the breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are fine. There are at least two flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne65ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Upon arrival, we received the most warmest welcome from Andrew. He even parked our car for us. Our room (double bed) was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious. Our stay was during the hottest weather England's had in seven years. Thankfully, they had a fan we could use (the only B & B that did). Thank you! Our breakfast was wonderfully prepared and tasted great. They had the most loveliest garden in front which we enjoyed every night along with great conversations with Andrew. Anne and Andrew were very knowledgeable and helpful about what to see and do in and around Keswick. Great location to all areas in the Lake District and central to Keswick. A lovely stay wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lythia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend and it was brilliant. We have stayed here a few times now and the place is the same every single time we stay. The whole house is spotlessly clean and the full English breakfast was lovely. Anne and Andrew are exceptional hosts. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Keswick you will not be disappointed and its only round the corner from all the shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acklam121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#132 of 173 in Keswick
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#35 of 173 in Keswick
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 173 in Keswick
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 173 in Keswick
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#62 of 173 in Keswick
406 reviews
0.9 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 173 in Keswick
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badgers Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badgers Wood Guest House

Property: Badgers Wood Guest House
Address: 30 Stanger Street | Lake District, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Badgers Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with free private parking (one car space per room) await you in this restored Lakeland home with its charm and character. In a quiet side street 2 minutes walk from Keswick market square, shops, restaurants and bus station. Fully refurbished en-suite rooms with good mountain views. Reliable free wi-fi available in all bedrooms. The Automobile Association of Great Britain (The 'AA')rated us as 'Highly Commended' placing us into the top 10% of their guest house accommodation in the UK. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing