We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well looked after from start tofinish”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Badgers Wood Guest House
Ranked #40 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well looked after from start tofinish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

On arrival, although early evening Andrew greeted us with a very warm welcome. Our rooms were spotless and very well appointed, Anne & Andrew seemed to have catered for all eventualities. The extra touches, such as cloths to wipe up spills and a fridge containing fresh milk were very useful.Breakfast was beautifully cooked and there was plenty of it. Nothing was any trouble and help and advice on directions and plans for our days was always available. In easy reach of the town and the lake, it is very well positioned. Excellent value for money. We will stay again and are looking forward to seeing Keswick, Anne and Andrew in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
133
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a brilliant place to stay in Keswick, in a quiet street just 2 minutes from town. We were made very welcome by Anne and Andrew. Gluten free options were available for breakfast as was soya milk and decaf coffee. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAnn1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at Badgers Wood three times. There is no other place for us.
Warm welcome as we enter, after parking in designated area, and Anne and Andrew great hosts. Spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms with lovely breakfast menu and help in the planning of our walks for the coming day. Very central to pubs and restaurants for the evening nosh, and of course the lovely Derwentwater Lake and the Theatre
Ian and John

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our first experience of a B&B and what a great experience it was. The location is only a short walk from the town centre pubs and shops and is a perfect base for a trip to the area. The room was clean and well kept with a nice sized ensuite.

Anne & Andrew were fantastic throughout our stay. We were given suggestions for things to do on the days we didn't have plans, and extra tips for the days when we did. There was a friendly atmosphere over breakfast each day. We were even given a card and box of chocolates as congratulations for getting engaged during our trip - a really lovely touch.

We will definitely stay at Badgers Wood again in future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Tyne & wEAR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My recent stay at Badgers Wood coincided with a few days of wonderful weather, after such a long winter. My single room which Anne & Andrew provide for me, gives me the perfect sanctuary after some warm days walking. Badgers Wood is always beautifully tidy and clean, and if not redecorated each year, it certainly seems like it. As always I have the excellent full english breakfast , which prepares me for a good long day out.
Tony Austin

Room Tip: If possiblethe rooms at the front of the property give excellent views of the surrounding fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have stayed at Badgers Wood on several occasions. It is very comfortable, with excellent views from both front and back. The breakfasts are excellent, with plenty of choice. Anne and Andrew are always very friendly and helpful. It will remain our first choice of places to stay in Keswick.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first stay at Keswick. We stayed here for 2 nights and it was excellent.

Anne and Andrew are fantastic hosts and have an immaculate B&B. Very friendly making you feel at home and comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent and prepared to a very high standard.
Highly recommended, looking forward to returning to Badgers Wood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillnSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Abacourt Guest House
Abacourt Guest House
#86 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#31 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#118 of 176 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#64 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#35 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badgers Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badgers Wood Guest House

Property: Badgers Wood Guest House
Address: 30 Stanger Street | Lake District, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Badgers Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with free private parking (one car space per room) await you in this restored Lakeland home with its charm and character. In a quiet side street 2 minutes walk from Keswick market square, shops, restaurants and bus station. Fully refurbished en-suite rooms with good mountain views. Reliable free wi-fi available in all bedrooms. The Automobile Association of Great Britain (The 'AA')rated us as 'Highly Commended' placing us into the top 10% of their guest house accommodation in the UK. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing