We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as we remembered” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badgers Wood Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Badgers Wood Guest House
Ranked #47 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“As good as we remembered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Badgers Wood a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it. It was reassuring to find that, on our return trip at the end of April, it was as good as we remembered.
The room was warm, welcoming and immaculate, with a real attention to detail.. Breakfasts are a particular strength. Andrew and Anne are ideal hosts who are always helpful and friendly without ever being intrusive.
The house is situated near the end of a cul de sac just off Keswick's main street, so pubs, restaurants and shops are all easy to reach.
Rates have hardly risen since we were last guests at Badgers Wood and it remains excellent value. We'll certainly make it our first choice on future visits to Keswick.

Room Tip: The twin bedded rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
130
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Yet again another great stay at Badgers Wood guest house. You just feel as though you are going home. Anne & Andrew are exceptional hosts. The guest house is spotless and the breakfast is very good and having a parking space in Keswick is very important. So looking forward to going back in July.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acklam121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Father & Son trip to The Lakes, staying in a twin room with a fantastic view. The room was immaculate. Anne & Andrew were lovely hosts and very helpful throughout our stay. Our flasks were kindly filled for free each morning. Biscuits in the room each day would have made it perfection! ;-)
I will definitely look to use Badgers Wood again in the future. Thank you from both of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed as a group of 5 over the weekend, and cannot recommend this b & b highly enough. All rooms spotless, crisp white duvet covers, fluffy towels plus all the little extras, even raspberry teas on the tea tray. You get a menu the night before so you can select your breakfast - everything from the "full monty" of bacon eggs etc. to a bacon butty or toast and jam. Andrew especially was very helpful with sorting us out some excellent walks which we enjoyed, just a pity he couldnt sort out the weather as well!! We will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkerWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I would recommend Badgers Wood guest house to anyone wanting to stay in Keswick. The host Ann and Andrew are just great nothing to much trouble for them, the rooms are modern and equiped with tea and coffee fascilities. The cleanliness of the guest house is exceptional and a credit to them. you are just a short stroll from Keswick centre so s ideal for everything.

P.S. definately stay here again.

Room Tip: on a slight incline but ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crofty1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Two single rooms for three nights. Very clean and well decorated. Breakfasts were very good. The hosts Anne and Andrew are really nice and helpful. This is an outstanding establishment and I can recommend it and the hosts. Thanks to Anne and Andrew !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boffdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this B&B for the weekend, It was a fantastic place to stay. The rooms were spotless and the breakfast was very good. Andrew and Ann were very nice people. We will be going back many times in the future :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acklam121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#36 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abacourt Guest House
Abacourt Guest House
#86 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#41 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#118 of 177 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#9 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#40 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badgers Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badgers Wood Guest House

Property: Badgers Wood Guest House
Address: 30 Stanger Street | Lake District, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Badgers Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with free private parking (one car space per room) await you in this restored Lakeland home with its charm and character. In a quiet side street 2 minutes walk from Keswick market square, shops, restaurants and bus station. Fully refurbished en-suite rooms with good mountain views. Reliable free wi-fi available in all bedrooms. The Automobile Association of Great Britain (The 'AA')rated us as 'Highly Commended' placing us into the top 10% of their guest house accommodation in the UK. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing