We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped-off at Rambles...”
Review of Rambles Tea Room - CLOSED

Rambles Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ripped-off at Rambles...”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Unfriendly staff and really poor value for money. Whoever heard of a jacket potato - and a lukewarm one at that - being served up on a tea plate! I seem to recall my rather puny sandwich being over a fiver as well. It's lucky to have a really good setting at the end of the high street where it can take full advantage. Just greedy, but I don't suppose they care if they're full of unsuspecting tourists throughout the summer months. I'll bet the locals give it a very wide berth...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    5
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Expensive and horrible cannot believe staffed by four very lazy people! We ordered cheese and tomato toasted sandwich at £5.25! Not value for money at all cheap sliced bread sweaty lettuce yuk! Would definitely not recommend do not go there! left with clothes smelling of greasy spoon cafe also not pleasant !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“high price-low quality”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

title says it all really!
poor service thrown in for free!
really disappointed in the quality of the food we ordered

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2gizmo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good place for quick bite!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great service, friendly staff, reasonably priced. Dogs welcomed and children fed! A good selection of cafe food, wouldn't say American? Would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Borris122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went at end of July, poor service by staff who looked like they weren't interested. Left half an overpriced soggy sandwich & coffee that tasted like dishwater, will I be going Babcock, no never

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rambles Tea Room also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing