We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This campsite was brilliant ,location,scenery and the rabbits bobbing around. The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced .the only gripes i have are there is no sockets for you to use your own hairdryer and the showers dont stay on long enough but all in all it is a brilliant site

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairet1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for honest feedback on our park.

I'm delighted to hear you had an enjoyable weekend break with us.

I am sorry that the press button showers have a short timer which are factory set and we cannot adjust them however we are aware of this and are looking at alternatives for next season.

With regard to the sockets near the showers we will look at this to see if there is a way of providing a socket somewhere in the shower building as an alternative to using our hairdryers.

As you say we try to keep our prices reasonable in our shop and are in some cases cheaper than the supermarket 2 miles away. We have increased the stock over the years and the camper van and caravan gifts are proving particularly popular.

We certainly have a great location with many scenic walks for the park and only a short distance into Keswick.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again.

Yours Sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 339 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This place offer you a place like home. It was clean, comfortable and have good services and facilities. The price also reasonable and affordable. I am sure you won't regret it if you choose this place. We have been here for a first time but we will be back for 100%

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank juzefiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you have had a very enjoyable stay with us and think the photos you have posted give an excellent idea of our park and some of the surrounding area.

We do benchmark our prices against similar sites offering similar facilities and try to remain competitive despite now incurring some of the highest business rates in the area. We have a range of price bands across the season to suit most budgets and am pleased to hear this met your requirements.

Thank you for the testimonial and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours Sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Made to feel unwelcome from the outset by reception staff. The site pick-up truck had 'the site with the view' written on the side of it. We wouldn't have know this from our pitch. The man in the shop, however, was particularly friendly and helpful. The Heights pub adjacent to the site is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vendace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for posting your experience of our park. I am very disappointing to hear you were made to feel unwelcome in reception. We regularly discuss the importance of a a friendly service with our staff, who undertake welcome host courses and I must apologise that you weren't made to feel welcome. The shop is linked to our reception and I am delighted you received excellent customer service from that point of view.

We do market our park as the 'park with the view' as from various points on the park you can see two lakes and a vista of fells, however we do make it very clear in our brochure and website that many pitches do not have a view of the lake or fells. Pitches with a view can be requested and we are always happy to advise on which pitches are available.

Unfortunately we are unable to do anything about the tv mast which we would agree with you doesn't look great however it does provide TV, telephone and emergency service coverage.

We hope you consider us again when planning a trip away.

Yours Sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had the most wonderful weekend and were only upset that we couldn’t stay longer. The weather was beautiful, the surroundings were stunning, our fellow campers were super-friendly and the campsite was a superb choice.

The location was superb and very close to the atmospheric, ancient Castlerigg Stone Circle and only a couple of minutes drive from Keswick town centre.

As well as a superb location, the on site facilities were great and everywhere was absolutely spotless.

The main camping field does slope, but there are flat areas, mainly around the outside. The campsite does not take advance bookings for tents, but we arrived at around 10.30 am on Saturday morning, and had no problem finding a flat pitch.

The site was quiet in the evening, and despite there being quite a lot of families with young children and dogs, the site was also pleasantly quiet early in the morning too.

We spoke to at least half a dozen different campers, who all wandered over to comment on our tent. Everyone was friendly and there was a very relaxed vibe, with equally friendly and chirpy staff.

We can't wait to return and hopefully for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampingWithStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to review our park and post some lovely photos. Your tent looks wonderful!

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to visit Castlerigg Stone Circe.

Our staff work hard to ensure the facilities are as clean as possible and have recently employed a morning cleaner starting at 6.15am to ensure they are cleaned and checked before everyone is up and about.

Our staff have undergone welcome to excellence training over the past winter to assist with enquiries on the park and to help where needed.

We look forward to seeing you again and hope the weather is as good as your recent stay.

Your sincerely

Mr David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We are fair weather campers. But the camping pods make this an excellent camping site, as we did not have to worry about pitching a tent! Excellent showering facilities. Well stocked camping shop for daily essentials.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJain1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guests, thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here in one of our camping pods. I'm very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found our facilities excellent.

We have been working on increasing the range of goods in the shop with a particular emphasis on local suppliers for items such as milk, bread, eggs, cheese meats and micro breweries.

We hope you are able to visit us again and experience the splendor of the Lake District.

Yours sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at this campsite. Perfect for very quiet camping, but be aware that silence is expected after 10! Quite strict on that. Still, for a relaxing break it's perfect, and the guy in the shop/reception was helpful, knowledgeable and had the most lovely manner. The toilets were clean and warm, which is very rare when camping! Would go again.

    • Value
Thank Tori082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I am writing my review now even though we are not leaving until tommorrow! This has to be without a doubt the best campsite in The Lakes - we wouldn't go anywhere else. We have previously stayed here in either a motorhome or tent but have just had our first week in a camping pod & have loved every minute. So peaceful & quiet - we've spent each evening sitting on our decked area watching the rabbits & robins & even had a couple of ducks eating out of our hands! Mixed weather, complete with an awesome thunderstorm one night, but mostly warm & dry. Although there's only one shower for this area it was always lovely & hot, but we also made use of the others - the tent field one is especially lovely. We can't fault this site in any way & reccommend it as much as we can & we most certainly will be booking camping pod 2 for the same time next year! We think it has the best view. We'll be going home sad tommorrow!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank flosspops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest, It is with great pleasure to hear you have (and indeed are) enjoying your stay here at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park. I'm delighted to learn that this isn't your first visit and you have stayed with us previously.

The wildlife on the park is flourishing, in part, down to our conservation management as we plant and create new habitats each year.

Pod 2 certainly does have the best view with a glimpse of the lake whilst the others have views of the felltops.

The lightening storm was amazing! It's not often we get storms like that one but it was spectacular as it moved across the valley.

Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours Sincerely

Mr David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
769 reviews
1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
12.2 mi away
Hillcroft Park
Hillcroft Park
#3 of 4 in Pooley Bridge
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
3.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
652 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Castlerigg Hall Rakefoot Lane, Keswick CA12 4TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park 4*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing