We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect except for breakfast being disturb by pod construction next to us.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have just had a wonderful evening staying in one of the camping pods on the site. Weather was on our side and we managed to sit outside the pod until about 9.45pm when it got a little chilly but the pod was big enough (family pod) for two adults and a dog to have the beds up and chairs inside where it was warm and snuggly.

The toilet block for the pods is sufficient but no pot washing facilities, however if you don't mind walking over to the Tent field (had to go there to wash the breakfast dishes) you will find fantastic showers and toilets, wish I had seen them before morning shower in our block as the one shower was cold as the windows were open and the shower curtain stuck to you, but the water was nice and hot. As you pay more for the pods it would be nice if they had nicer showers.

The only thing that spoiled the one night we had was that one of the camp gentlemen came to start to erect the last Pod (as it seems is being marketed for the following Bank Holiday weekend) before 9am. We were up, but were just about to enjoy a quiet peaceful breakfast. The van was back and forth and our deck was even measured at one point whilst we were trying to eat our breakfast. The gentleman was pleasant but it did put a damper on things. Had he have waited just another hour my score would have been an EXCELLENT, but obviously the lure of extra customers the following weekend was too much for the already paying guests there at the time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJGLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Guest , thank you for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I must apologise if you were disturbed whilst we set out the wooden supports for the arrival of the camping pod later in the day. We were careful not to use any power tools (only a handsaw) as it was 8.30am and we tried to keep the use the site service van to an absolute minimum. The pod arrival was scheduled for early afternoon during changeover and unfortunately it was necessary to have it delivered this month as we had guests scheduled to arrive who had booked some time ago.

We try to do as much work as we can during the winter months, however for a pod delivery we do need dry hard ground conditions due to the weight of the delivery-wagon+pod.

We accept the smaller toilet building isn't to the same standard as the other two buildings we offer and are hoping to seek planning approval to improve the showers and schedule the work for the forthcoming winter.

As you correctly point out guests are free to use the alternative buildings, one of which has underfloor heating and both have indoor pot washing facilities.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you consider staying with us again.

Kind regards

Mr D Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 338 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have just visited this lovely site which is located overlooking Derwent Water in Keswick. The facilities are excellent and there is also a very good restaurant on site serving tasty meals at fair prices. The staff are very welcoming and extremely helpful always being prepared to offer advice on local walks and interesting places to visit in the local area. There are many excellent walks from the site and it is an easy stroll into town, albeit slightly more strenuous uphill on the way back. The shop on site is well stocked and all the facilities are very modern, clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tregde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear guest, thank you for taking time to review our park. I'm very happy to hear you have had an enjoyable stay.

I'm pleased to hear you were given good advice on the many scenic walks available from our park and that you enjoyed the facilities we have on offer here at Castlerigg Hall.

You are quite correct that the walk back up from Keswick is a bit more strenuous but still enjoyable. For guests who don't wish to walk back we recommend the 555 bus service which drops off close to our park or a taxi from the town centre.

We hope to welcome you again to our area in the future.

Kind regards

Mr D Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

What a great site this,we have just returned from our 2nd Easter at this wonderful site,and have already booked again for Easter 2015. With such breathtaking views it's hard to imagine there been a better site where you can go and be blown away by then view,however it's not all about the view it's about the great staff that are so helpful,a particular mention to Phil who was so helpful when we arrived to find some thoughtless camper had decided to leave his car on our plot and go off for a meal at 20.00. Thanks Phil for being there and sorting it out especially after we arrived late after a long days work you were just the person we needed to sort it out and make it stress less. The site is so clean with first class amenities and a good restaurant with a chef that loves cooking.
Thanks to all at Castlerigg your efforts and commitment to your customers are greatly appreciated

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevlin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guests, It is very pleasing to hear that your stay was a pleasant one and I shall pass on your comments to our staff, thank you.

Our restaurant franchisees Nick and Joanne will be delighted to hear your comments who work hard buying in fresh and sourcing local whilst trying to keep the prices reasonable.

We are constantly looking at ways to improve the park facilities and have just taking on an additional cleaner to help with very early morning and evening cleaning checks.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you next Easter.

Kind regards

Mr D Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our first trip here and we'll return. Excellent site and facilities, peaceful just out of town with nice walk through the woods to Keswick and the lake. Will definitely stay again.
One gripe only (and it's a small one) the on site shop didn't have ice for those cold beers

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trev463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Sir, thank you for sharing your feedback and I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We were blessed with superb weather over Easter and the walk into Keswick, or down to the lake on a Spring morning with the leaves just coming out is one of our favourite walks.

I'm glad you enjoyed one of our many local ales we offer in our shop, many of which are in the chiller, but we have been asked about ice before and is something we shall look at to see if it is something we can provide.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Mr D Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just got back from a two night stay with our motorhome. It was a beautiful campsite with amazing views. We were on a site with hook ups which made things really easy. the reception staff were really helpful showing us where everything was on the site map including all the facilities - they even informed me of the facilities that were being worked on. The facilities were spotlessly clean and there is also a shop with everything that you can think of. We also went for a meal in the cafe there. We walked down into Keswick along the foot paths and caught the bus back to the end of the road - so no problem getting around if you want o leave the motorhome or car in place. I would definately stay here again and are already planning a stay in August.

Room Tip: Go for a pitch that has a clear view
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZukiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for providing your feedback and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay.

As you say we are very fortunate to have a location with lovely views from the park and close proximity to the 555 bus stop which takes you either to Keswick or alternatively to Grasmere, Ambleside and Windermere.

We have been working on improving the park facilities and have been extending the range of goods available in our shop.

We have plans to further improve some of the wash facilities next winter and are in the process of providing a more convenient disposal point for the mid level pitches.

We look forward to welcoming you again in August.

Kind regards

Mr D Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Visited this site last October. The views are good and the facilities are generally good. However, the attitude of some of the reception staff leaves a great deal to be desired. The service within the restaurant was also poor

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Castlerigg Hall caravan and camping park for your stay and for taking the time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor.

I'm sorry that you were dissatisfied with the standard of service you experienced during your stay last year.

Our receptionists regularly undertake staff training with two training days completed and regular refreshers since your visit. We provide visitor feedback forms in the reception and welcome any feedback during your stay so that any issues that may have arisen whilst you were on site or shortly after could be addressed immediately.

Our restaurant is franchised and it is difficult to identify the service problems you experienced from last October however if you would like to e-mail me with the details I can look into this further, however we are committed to providing high levels of service throughout the park and shall discuss your comments at our franchise meeting next week.

Please, accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. I would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality.

Yours sincerely,

Mr D Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have just returned home after another brilliant holiday staying at Castlerigg Hall. This was our third visit staying in a static caravan and each time all the staff have made us feel very welcome. The views from the site are stunning, the site is very well cared for and all the amenities in good condition. This year has seen the addition of WiFi across the whole site and a much appreciated dog wash, although our Spaniel wasn't that keen. It is a good site where you can leave the car behind and walk in all directions to your hearts content and then return later in the day to have a nice meal in the Jiggers where the hosts are very friendly and the food is good. The only downside is that all too soon the holiday is over and we have to drag our weary legs back home. Looking forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your holiday experience and I am delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay. The weather has been very good these past few weeks for visitors to explore our wonderful countryside.

I'm pleased you found the facilities in good order, we have been working on them throughout the winter making various improvements. I shall pass on your comments to the staff and to NIck and Joanne in the restaurant..

We look forward to welcoming back to Castlerigg Hall again.

Yours sincerely

Mr D Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
16.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
635 reviews
23.8 mi away
Newby Bridge Country Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Castlerigg Hall Rakefoot Lane, Keswick CA12 4TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park 4*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing