We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Meal in Lovely Surroundings”
Review of Mary Mount Hotel

Mary Mount Hotel
Ranked #43 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Meal in Lovely Surroundings”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We ate here twice during a recent holiday, the restaurant is unpretentious but welcoming. The surroundings and view are magnificent. There is a good choice of starters and specials and portions are generous. Try the asparagus soup or the pate. The steaks are good and reasonably priced. We couldn't manage desserts as we were so full. The meals are very reasonably priced. This restaurant is a real find.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    59
    9
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A Surprise Tucked Away”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had passed this Hotel many times on the Borrowdale Road but never bothered to venture in - it looked a bit old fashioned. On a day out late last year we decided to take a lunch. We were presently surprised and found the ambience comfortable. You can eat outside or inside very conveniently and the quality of the food was good. The prices were typically of today - under £6 for most starters and around £13.50 for mains.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cambridgeblue65to67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Wonderful Sunday Lunch experience"”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went to Mary Mount with parents for Sunday Lunch (had stayed in Hotel before a couple years ago and enjoyed it then.) My mother has a wheelchair therefore we had pre-booked a table at the window and this was done without any hassle. We had a lovely table overlooking the garden with lake view and watched the blue tits feeding from the bird feeder outside the window. Shame it was pouring with rain!! The restuarant area has been refurbished and extended since our last visit and is really beautiful and comfortable. The staff were attentive and the food was delicious. The portions were amazing. The Roast Beef melted in your mouth. All in all a really nice lunch and afternoon experience for us all. Reasonable prices and would definitely go back next time in Keswick. Thank you.
Highly recommended.....................the Doyles and the Williams from Glasgow

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views and Friendly Service”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A welcome rest spot after our hike up Walla Crag and partial walk around the lake. Best view of the bird feeders and lake out the window. There was lovely outdoor seating as well, but it was October and cold outside, so while many stayed outside in their coats, we decided to rest indoors.

We had a wonderful chat with one of the owners -- it was quite late in the afternoon, but it was okay to still order from the lunch menu. Wild mushroom and asparagus risotto hit the spot and warmed me up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhylP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Setting Excellent...”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We tried Mary Mount at lunchtime on day very late in August 2013, and whilst the setting was more than excellent with beautiful views of the fells and lake, the food was variable. There was certainly lots of choice on the lunch menu and the overall portion sizes were good, although we did find a big difference in the amount of filling between a baguette and a wrap (the wrap being much smaller in comparison despite being the exact same price).

The staff taking the order (at the bar) were happy to accommodate changes to the menu, e.g. putting a wrap filling option in a baguette. Maybe the menu should simply state all fillings available in all options of bread etc.

All in all a pleasant experience in excellent surroundings, also we were able to sit outside with our dog in tow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianeuk111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Mount Hotel also viewed

 
Uldale, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Mary Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing