We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and welcoming”
other travelers have booked this property
Barn Cottage entrance and parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barn Cottage entrance and parking
Sitting room with log burning stove Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Barn Cottage entrance and parking
Sitting room with log burning stove
Sitting room
dining area in sitting room
overlooking garden
sitting room comfortable arm chairs
sitting room
downstairs entrance hall
Entrance hall        and front door
Kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
bedroom twin beds
bedroom
entrance hall
bathroom
outside in winter
storage biar
sitting area outside
Garden and seating
View from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael B
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We made a short notice booking to celebrate my 50th birthday. Despite being plagued with inclement weather, it did not dampen our spirits. The extremely warm welcome included a homemade chocolate cake for the extra mile. The dog friendly cottage was as advertised, with the log burner and constant supply of logs being worthy of particular mention. The surroundings were ideal for our two working cocker spaniels, who were clearly in their eulement and enjoyed their stay. Yes, it's a country cottage, it might have the odd fly, but I am struggling to understand how a previous review reads damming and there was absolutely no evidence of rats as reported. I suppose one cannot please everyone. So if you are looking for peace and tranquility in a dog friendly cottage, I would not hesitate to recommend Barn Cottage.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and location
Liked least: Weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2015
Thank you so much for your review I am so glad you and the dogs enjoyed your birthday treat. The weather was terrible but I hope you were warm and cosy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful rural retreat”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Fantastic to read so many lovely reviews of our favourite cottage from all the nice people who have enjoyed staying in Barn Cottage as much as we have over many years. Thank you for letting us enjoy this peaceful, warm, cosy cottage yet again. Lookin forward to seeing you and that view again next year.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2015
Thank you see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, comfortable and relaxing Lakes Retreat”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travel lots, rarely return to the same place twice and have sampled holiday properties at most price points. However, we must have stayed at Barn Cottage half a dozen times over the last few years, which says it all.
Each week we have spent there has been wonderfully relaxing and memorable.
The cottage has everything you need for a Lakes holiday and is in a fabulous spot, accessible for both the Northern Lakes and Solway Coast but nicely tucked away.
The cottage is set in a private spot within the grounds of the owners property. They are very welcoming and helpful should you require their assistance, but otherwise leave you in complete peace to enjoy your holiday.
We can't recommend the cottage enough, and hope to return again soon.

Date of stay: September 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2015
Thank you Jon I am so glad you have enjoyed your stays with us see you again soon I hope, Joyce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryeboy
Prestib
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing week away in a lovely setting.”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A nice relaxing week at Barn Cottage with a lovely welcome gift of a home baked Chocolate cake and 1/2 a dozen eggs from the owner Joyce. The log stove a great and the cottage was always lovely and warm. We were also blessed with glorious weather. Thank you Joyce.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2015
Thank you you were very welcome guests I am so glad you had a goo d holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941kandy
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wondeful stay in a clean and tidy cottage with a warm welcome”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely few days in a beautiful setting. The owners of the cottage could not have been nicer and so knowledgeable about the area,

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful setting.
Liked least: We had a bit of inclement weather but that's Cumbria!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2015
Thank you so pleased you had a good holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4x4Hawk
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty, rodent ridden, exposed wires, ground in dirt”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

On arrival at this 'dog friendly' accommodation we were met by open bowls of mouse/rat poison which were accessible by the dogs, the place looked like it hadn't been cleaned properly for a very long time. I could write a long list of problems but I think it was simply too much for the old lady who owns it to prepare it to an acceptable standard and hope she makes an effort to put things right.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2015
This guest arrived arrived early before we arrived back and entered the cottage without our permission and before we had chance to clean it after the departure of the previous guest. He arrived with three dogs and a partner. Our understanding was that the dogs would be gaged while in doors but this was clearly not the case.
The present occupants in the week following and all previous guest have been delighted with the cottage.Please see other reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINDA W
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A picturesque and peaceful holiday location that is easily accessible, well-equipped and very homely.”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I've just enjoyed another fantastic stay at Barn Cottage which is a secluded and tranquil holiday cottage that offers everything a visitor needs. The owners are exceptionally accommodating and offer a personal touch with their warm and friendly welcome and delicious custom made cake - mmm! The cottage is a fantastic base from which to venture off into the surrounding area and is very homely to return to at the end of the day. It is not far from nearby towns and restaurants yet it is a delightful, private haven that is nestled amongst the hills. I miss leaving every year and always look forward to my return again the next holiday season.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely, cosy feel to the property.
Liked least: Nothing, as I choose to return there every year.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2015
Thank you see you again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing