We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another PERFECT stay....”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Chapel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Main Living Room
Outside area for dining
with greenhouse for pottering and shed for bikes.
Our 1st entry in the visitors book by our very 1st guests
Master Bedroom before refurbishment Autumn 2015
Master Bedroom before refurbishment Autumn 2015
Master Bedroom before refurbishment Autumn 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Monkey_Ha...
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another PERFECT stay....”
Reviewed June 1, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We are just packing up after a beautiful, sun kissed, perfect week at The Old Chapel. Yet again Rebecca and Fraser have exceeded our expectations and provided our family with a relaxing week in perfect surroundings.
We have quite literally been all over The Lake District in the past seven days using Ireby as a base, and had a tremendous time!
We would heartedly recommend The Old Chapel to any family with a disabled member, such a well-appointed place with every single need catered for so well. Our Livvy has LOVED it, and so have we!

Just book it...but not before we book it again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2018
Thank you! Glad you had a great time. See you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 13, 2018
Thanks Robert. I am glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mary G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable”
Reviewed April 29, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Pretty converted chapel but sadly lacking views other than a row of houses opposite. It had a tiny patio with what looked like a large garden but sadly as a wheelchair user I was unable to access this as had a flight of stairs from the patio to the garden. However the property was very spacious and comfortable for me to move around in and had a wet floor shower and shower seat. Would have been nice to have the owner on hand when we arrived to show us around etc. The house was cold and we had to hunt around for literature on heating and white goods. We didn't have any contact with the owner until the following evening. This aside we enjoyed a lovely holiday. Grasmere, Keswick and Ullswater are to be recommended and enjoyed eating in The Snooty Fox and The Pheasant in Keswick.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2018
Thank you for your review of The Old Chapel. I am sorry you felt disappointed that you were not greeted on arrival. My husband and I both work shifts in health care so it is not possible for us to greet all our guests and do note that we will not routinely visit the property in the listing. We do however make our telephone numbers available so guests can call us if they need anything.

Thank you for your comments regarding the access to the garden. It is possible to access the garden with a wheelchair from the back but I accept this is not ideal. I have changed the wording on the property listing to make this clearer for our future guests.

I hope these two points did not detract from your stay too much and am pleased to read you had a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 8, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cherylhil...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The old Chapel”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Chapel was very spacious had everything you need for a lovely stay owner was friendly and very helpful the chapel was cosy the garden was secure for our dog to roam around in on our own the only downside my personal opinion was not too keen on the open bedroom above the living room but that did not affect I'll stay in anyway would love to go again the pub in the village the Black Lion was very cosy and the people were very friendly and welcoming

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed g
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect snug warm place to explore the north lakes”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Warm, welcoming and well kitted out house. We stayed for half term and had a blast. The house was well kitted out, great fire place, well appointed kitchen and great hosts. The village is small, quiet but friendly. A super garden and well positioned just north of Skiddaw for exploring the north lakes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John n
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family with wheelchair user”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place suits us do well. Large open spaces for the wheelchair to navigate, and plenty of additional space for the rest of the family. Being able to bring our dog too makes it extra nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2017
Thanks for coming to stay at The Old Chapel. Hope we see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing