We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Hope

Cafe Hope
Ranked #52 of 128 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
SATFFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Good points.......nice position with great views.

Bad points.....for £17 we received the following......a pizza which was basically a base with tomato paste with a few blobs of cheese on top, a chocolate drink which was basically spoonfuls of choc powder with boiling water with cream on top and a few marshmallows (not a real chocolate drink like you get at Chesters at Elterwater!), tuna baguette and a sauadage roll which were passable, a mulled wine and a juice. We could have gone Greggs and got the same food at probably half the price and twice as good!
Needless to say we will not go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DTSTOKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeHope K, Manager at Cafe Hope, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. All feed back is helpful and we take on board your comments. Our aim is to provide some where that is value for money serving quality food and drink. We are currently reviewing our menu for spring /summer 2014. If you would like to discuss this further please call 01768780844 and ask for Viki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    44
    9
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Welcoming and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

On a very wet day, we were welcomed, despite having 2 wet dogs. A fresh, hot pot of tea (made with leaf tea) and a delicious slice of cake for £3 - massively better value than a certain chain coffee shop in the centre of Keswick!. We were even invited to use the hand dryers in the toilets to dry ourselves off a bit.....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeHope K, Manager at Cafe Hope, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I visit Keswick on a regular basis but only called in at this cafe for the first time last November. Called in for the second time yesterday (21st December) after being impressed with value for money on previous visit and will definitely be choosing this cafe on my next visit to Keswick. Friendly smiling staff -even when visiting with a wet dog. Big pot of tea and tasty grub.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeHope K, Manager at Cafe Hope, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for you kind review. see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paul a ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife were out for a walk with the dogs and we call in to cafe hope for a cup of coffee and cake food was very good will be back next week

Helpful?
1 Thank Sweep1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeHope K, Manager at Cafe Hope, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Glad you liked it, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Soup and a sandwich were freshly made and delicious... Really good coffee, and the cakes were delicious! Good sized portions and The cafe has been carefully set up.... They deserve to do very well... Knocks spots off the overpriced cafe inside theatre by the lake.
We'll be back. Thank you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pontevecchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeHope K, Manager at Cafe Hope, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hope also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Cafe Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing