We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An ideal base for walkers fed up with B and B...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of San Ging, Keswick

Master bedroom with ensuite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom with ensuite
Dining kitchen First floor living room with views over Bassenthwiate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Master bedroom with ensuite
Dining kitchen
First floor living room with views over Bassenthwiate
Sunroom
Ensuite bathroom
House bathroom
Twin room
Upper double bedroom
Bunk room
Utility/drying room
Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LaDolceVi...
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“An ideal base for walkers fed up with B and B accommodation”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

After a lifetime of frequenting Lake District B and Bs, competing to provide the most uncomfortable beds and the greasiest breakfast at the highest price, our small group of walkers have finally cottoned on to the fact that rental properties can be far more comfortable but also cheaper. At £1000 for a week in May, San Ging is not inexpensive but for a party of 4 (and the property genuinely has room for 8) this is still only just over £35 per night which is well below the going rate for a local B and B.

Since rain is not unknown in the Lakes, one of the principal attractions of San Ging is its space. With 4 bedrooms (ranging in quality from a large en-suite double to a small room with twin bunk beds), a large kitchen and two lounges there is ample space for reading, listening to music or watching the large television when atrocious weather keeps you off the fells. There is free and reliable Wi Fi throughout the property.

San Ging is located just outside town in a cul-de-sac off the main road to Ambleside. It is a 20-30 minute walk into town although the return journey up a steep hill after an evening's eating and drinking may be off-putting for some. From the outside it is a fairly nondescript , pebble-dashed building but much thought (and money) has been devoted to the interior. On 4 levels, its prime asset is a glorious view from the main lounge of Derwent Water and the surrounding hills. Whilst the steep slope means that there is only a grassy bank to the rear, there is ample space (on a dry day) to sit outside and use the barbecue.

Internal decoration is modern and stylish. The main bathroom is huge, with a good, strong shower and a tub big enough for 2 (consenting) adults to share. The kitchen is equipped with every utensil known to man and from the quantity of cutlery and crockery it seems that many people staying here will be throwing parties for another dozen friends staying in less salubrious accommodation nearby. Bed linen is from The White Company.

A few minor criticisms. In a property of this quality it should be possible to provide towels as well as bed linen. (There were some tea towels, washing-up liquid and toilet rolls despite the web-site suggesting otherwise.). Also 3 of our party of 4 struggled to get to grips with the key lock at the front door before the 4th, accustomed to visiting vulnerable adults in the community, showed us how to do it. Surely a simple coded lock would provide just as much security and be easier to operate?

That said, we were more than happy with the property and can recommend it highly. Comments in the Visitors' Book suggest that many people return frequently and we are very likely to do so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious accommodation
Liked least: The steep walk back from town
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, I'm pleased you found the house to be spacious, comfortable and well equipped. As you point out in your comment the price sounds high but the house sleeps 8 and is priced accordingly, at peak times the weekly price for 8 works about at less than £27pppn which is little more than one would pay in a hostel and less than a B&B.
Thank you for your comments on the location. The hillside location does mean a steep walk back from town but alternatively guests can use the bus (which stops at the end of the culdesac) or get a taxi.
I don't provide towels as a rule for practical and environmental reasons but have provided them for guests who have requested them eg when travelling by public transport or coming from abroad. I will review this policy.
Thank you also for the comments about the key at the front door. To my knowledge it is a standard UPVC front door with a standard lock and I wasn't aware that there was a knack to using it, however I like your idea of a coded lock and may contact the supplier to enquire about the possibility of fitting one.
I look forward to hearing from you again one day and welcoming you back to San Ging.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston
Reviewed May 26, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancashire
Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David C
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“PERFECT SELF CATERING”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed at SAN GING for a short break MON-FRI with our son and his partner and grandson (WHO CELERBRATED HIS FIRST BIRTHDAY WHILE WE WERE THERE) .Having visited the web page and read other reviews ,we were expecting something special. we were not to be disappointed ,the photos hardly do it justice ,the place is amazing from stepping inside to going to bed everything you could ever want is provided for.A nice touch from Helen the owner was tea milk and bread for our arrival.The views were fabulous(SNOW ON THE FELL TOPS,AND THE ROAD ON OUR DEPARTURE DAY) very cosy with underfloor heating,and with it being on three levels(only four or five steps between each one)there was plenty of room to relax and do your own thing,as we only used three of the bedrooms it almost felt like being in a seperate wing wing. As a previous reviewer stated it is surrounded by other propertie, but once your inside or on the patio your not really overlooked,and as it had snowed quite heavily the night before we left it was great to have neighbours,as the gentleman over the road dug the street out and even volunteered to clear our drive .With it being in an elavated position its a nice 20 ish min wander down to the centre of Keswick, as an alternative to walking the main road its a nice walk if you turn left at the main road then first right,a little more srenuous on the way back,but it helps burn off the calories after a night in bar26. From our initial contact with helen to our departure everything was first class, we even managed to leave a few things behind, wich Helen promptly posted on to us.As a very regular visitor to keswick and prefering self catering i cant praise SAN GING enough and hope that we can return when the weather is kinder so we can use the patio more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of luxury and the views
Liked least: Sadly we had to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2013
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and how lovely that we shared your grandson's first birthday! I hope to hear from you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the house to be well equipped and comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matlock
Reviewed March 1, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing