We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step Back in Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alhambra Cinema

Alhambra Cinema
Ranked #1 of 7 Fun & Games in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Alhambra screens current films daily in magnificent digital quality.The best of the World's theatre, ballet and opera are relayed live by satellite several times a month.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We nipped into the Alhambra on a chilly, rainy night when we were looking for somewhere dry to spend an evening. It's an old theatre, built in 1913 if I remember correctly, but seems to have been lovingly refurbished. It was a bit of a step back in time, for us. We sat in the first balcony in a plush seat with our candy and enjoyed a very good film. We'd recommend a visit to the Alhambra even on a sunny evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wildrose204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    29
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A surprise treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I didn't even realise that Keswick had a cinema until I was browsing things to do in Keswick. It's and old cinema but the seats are very comfy and it reminds me of an old Odeon, though smaller. The prices are very reasonable compared to the large chains and it was a more comfortable experience all round. It's well worth visiting this cinema, I don't imagine there's many left like this!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry28966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A comfortable cinema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

An Art Deco cinema run by volunteers and showing current movies aimed mainly at a more mature audience. Only one screen but they generally show two movies in an evening so you do get a limited choice. You can sit downstairs or in the balcony - I sat in the balcony with most of the audience which was pretty sparse. Good quality print and sound - it deserves to be better patronised. A small shop sells sweets and soft drinks but I couldn't see any popcorn!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wethered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“lovely little theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were after an escape from the summer rain and were just wishing keswick had a cinema when we stumbled across a sign saying just that. Followed it round the corner and found the alhambra. It was an old style cinema with an upstairs balcony so our son thought that was very exciting. Luckily they had a suitable film on 20 mins after we found it so we settled down in the comfy seats and the warmth and enjoyed it immensely

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average little cinema”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Alhambra cinema has been in Keswick for many years. It has the feel of a 1930's cinema - decoration and seating being the most obvious. The films tend to be old or unknown.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDanceswithWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alhambra Cinema also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Alhambra Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing