We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, well-stocked bar for nice beers and wines”
Review of Magnolia Belgian

Magnolia Belgian
Ranked #53 of 129 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, well-stocked bar for nice beers and wines”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a choice of beers - real ales and Belgian bottles - and wines, in pleasant, sophisticated surroundings. So nice compared to the busyness and corner-cutting you can find in other Keswick drinking spots. On the odd occasion we've eaten there it's been lovely, but I recommend it as a nice, different place to have a drink in the centre of town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluebolero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    114
    33
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Two visits - huge different”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I visited this place at beginning of March for early bird dinner at 6.45 and loved it. The beer was nice, the pizza was lovely and my partners Lamb was also very good. We even had trio of desserts and it was all very good. My only downfall was the time it took for the food but we were not in a hurry so it was fine. We went back at the beginning of April and what a difference. Service was slow and food was Awful! We ate at 6.45 again but the menu we had last time was now not available. So I ordered steak and my partner had the Lamb. We waited 50 minutes for our food and then when it came what a let down. The steak was so tough the knife could hardly cut it. I asked for it Medium/Rare and it was well well done. They brought out a second steak and it was just as bad as the first. Don't even ask about the Lamb. We had to get out and go get ice cream from Casa bella which is much better place for eating, we should have stuck with it. Afraid we won't be going back any time soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mantraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, poor quality, I would not recommend this for lunch.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a family lunch here and were really disappointed with the quality of food. The prices are quite high. We ordered beef sandwiches, the bread was like tesco value and the beef which was described as hot was cold and tough. We ordered the child's pasta for 4.95 which was basically overcooked pasta with a tin of chopped tomatoes and this was also cold . Overall we would not recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotteloujones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Huge selection of beer and wine.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went in for a quick snack and were pleasantly surprised. There is a huge selection of world beers and wines. I really enjoy wheat beer and they had one on tap. The best wheat beer I have ever had. My husband went for my usual tipple of Erdinger (also a wheat beer).

We were enticed by the chucky chips and dips. My husband ordered the Matured cheese sandwich with pickle. However, they forgot to put the pickle in the sandwich, on the side was a lovely dressed salad. The chunky chips were excellent, but they didn’t come with dips. The fries came with some delicious garlic mayonnaise.

All in all, it is a great place for beer and average for food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GemmaK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Early Bird”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went here for an early meal before going to the Theatre, they advertise Pizza & Pasta Early Bird Menu. Nice place but small and tables very close together, however at the time we went (5.30) this was not a problem. Service lukewarm at best, staff were discussing very loudly about a staff member who had not turned up, they seemed to be more concerned about this than us as customers. Food was pretty poor, I ordered the Lasagne and the top of it had been cremated, surely either the chef or the waiter could have noticed? Must be better pre-theatre options in Keswick, I would avoid again and suggest you do too

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank essate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Belgian also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Magnolia Belgian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing