We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant & dog friendly too”

Keswick Launch on Derwentwater
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
343 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Very pleasant & dog friendly too”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We took the launch from Keswick around the lake and had a very pleasant trip. It was our puppy's first trip on a boat and he thoroughly enjoyed it too!
We got off for a woodland and lakeside walk half way round, and then simply waited for the next launch to come and take us back to Keswick.
We were helped by fabulous weather, but I think it would be enjoyable in most weather.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    101
    33
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
1,131 reviews
727 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“Nice lake tour”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We walked halfway around the lake and were ready to quit so we waited at the end of one of the several jetties that are located in sight of the hiking trails and waved down the next boat. The fare for our tour was charged based on the distance back to Keswick so that was good. All around good deal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A great way to walk around the lake”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

With many hop on and off stops you can walk all around the lake and see many beautiful places. The staff is friendly and the dogs strollers etc are all welcome

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chantal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great trip around the lake!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend had a great day out on the lake. Your ticket is valid all day, so you can get off and back on, at any of the 6 landing stages around the Derwentwater. The views are amazing, even on a cloudy day. We stopped at Lodore to see the waterfall and went to the hotel next to the falls for a cup of tea. Then got back on, then got off at Nicol End, as we were told to go into the cafe at the landing for a large scone. They were twice the size of a normal scones and tasted great!!
There are mountains all around you - Catbells,Maiden Moor,Castle Crag,High Seat,Bleaberry Fell, Falcon Crag and Wallace Crag to name just a few. Great for walkers as the boat take you nearer to these mountains. The boat is simple and is basically a taxi service for the lake and doesn't mind dogs on board. The price isn't too bad.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaCouper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, Tenn
Level Contributor
374 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“A pleasant 50-minutes on the Lake”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The launch is a working boat that shuttles hikers and day trippers between six or seven different ports on Derwentwater. Nothing fancy about the craft, no interpretation, no refreshments--just a water taxi that seats about 100 people.

So, you're on the boat for the views, and boy what views. The scenery here is drop dead gorgeous. Discount tickets are available at the Moot Hall in Keswick.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank civilwarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keswick Launch on Derwentwater also viewed

Portinscale, Keswick
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Keswick Launch on Derwentwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing