We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keswick Museum

Keswick Museum
Ranked #15 of 63 things to do in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fascinating Stories in a beautiful place! Newly refurbished museum which tells the story of Keswick's landscape, history and culture, plus activities, events and temporary exhibitions. Wonderful cafe and facilities!
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Totally different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We called in here having seen it was due to be refurbished and wanted to check out what it was currently like. Our first attempt was thwarted due to a gas problem but later in the day we called back. This museum remeinded me of old fashioned museums of my childhood with the rocks and stuffed animals but you could stroke the fox and badger. I am not interested in rocks but for those who are ther was a good collection. What fascinated me was the enormous musical machine which you could play, some sheet music was there and you could have a go. I also enjoyed the cases with the more personal items in and the dead cat in the box was a must!
Listening to both the staff I am looking forward to a return visit to see the updating and my only criticism is that whilst it is good to have written info this needs to be concise to hold the attention. A great way to pass an hour if weather inclement and just to pop in.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dancingassassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    49
    11
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Keswick Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is an "old fashioned" museum in the best sense of the word. No flashy stuff here. Original manuscripts by the Lake Poets, etc, huge historical relief model of the area, "musical stones" - a huge glockenspiel-like instrument you can play with hammers. Local art display. Stuffed birds and other beasts. Most interesting wet-weather activity, and the Museum is always changing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Still open before undergoing a huge restoration. Look for "Manky Cat""

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Two-Pickerings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old fashioned and boring”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is a throwback to museums in the post war years; glass cases, stuffed animals etc. It has in one case Robert Southey's shoes! Why? Also, it has a mummyfied cat (in a box carrying a warning about the contents) and it's horrid!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnanChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Interesting Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Curious enough to follow the signs I was pleasantly delighted with the wee museum, also the free entry, a most unusual occurancce in the Lake District. Lots of interesting Victorian exhibits etc and well worth visiting if you have a spare hour or so.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Highlander947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keswick Museum also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Keswick Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing