We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“get what you pay for - no more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twa Dogs Inn

Twa Dogs Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twa Dogs Inn
Ranked #159 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“get what you pay for - no more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed weekend of 02/06/12, party of 4 walkers. Second stay but what perturbed us a little about the first stay were proved to be valid concerns second time so regardless of price, not going back. Asked for veggie breakfast at bar at about 10:30pm and the enquiry was directed casually without much interest from whom I took to be the owner to the woman I took to be his wife/cook. She nodded without expending the energy of smiling let alone speaking. When they inevitably forgot it the next morning the host simply wheeled on his feet, again speaking apparently too much effort. As a place to lay your head after a hard walk and a few pints, it's fine - twin room basic but clean, en suite adequate. You wouldn't want to hang around there - it's 15 mins out of town and clientele are presumably locals, certainly lacking in bonhomie, character and colour, but for £70 for two what can you expect (in this country). Hosting of persons we took to be the tenants or owners was pretty dire - simply lacking the personality that might enable me to give the place anything more than the summary "you get what you pay for". You kind of acknowledge you have gone cheap but the downbeat surroundings and tired decor almost make you and fellow guests feel cheap and guilty for doing so. Plethora of cheap home made signs warning about this and that ( eg dont leave shower dorr open of smoke alarm goes off , Breakfast 08:30 sharp etc ) which just ram home that you have gone cheap.

Room Tip: rooms to front have in the summer loud chatter from the beer garden tables
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    19
    17
    31
See reviews for
19
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I booked this last year and only visited trip advisor a few days before we visited. The reviews made me think 'oh no what have I done' so I prepared myself for the worst but NO need we had a great stay and would return. After a long day cycling the Coast 2 coast route we arrived at the Twa Dogs inn and recieved a warm welcome from the owner and the bar staff. There was lots of hot water for a good long soak in the bath, the bed was comfy and the room was clean. Yes the breakfast was at 8.30am but that suited us fine as we needed to get on to the next stage of the C2C the breakfast was superb and the coffee was excellent. You have to remember this is a small inn and not a huge hotel and the staff can't hang around all day waiting to serve half a dozen breakfasts. We were pleasantly surprised and would definitely return. Great value for money. Thank you Peter and staff!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

would not recommend this hotel. the owner was rude, we asked him about an animal on the wall and his answer was very abrupt then he walked away. when asked about breakfast and times we were told its at half past 8 and that was that. we then went down for dinner and felt very unwelcome so left the hotel to go elsewhere for dinner. in the morning we were told we could not have breakfast as we talked until 2 in the morning. after travelling the area and staying in 4 and 5 star hotels at the same price this hotel was a complete let down.

Room Tip: choose elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanneandjodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here overnight in October 2011.
The pub was fine with a reasonable selection of local real ale all of which were kept well. And it had received several awards, one of which was community pub of the year, something that we are ery keen on. The evening meal that we had was fine as was breakfast. The breakfast of juice, cereal, full English, toast and tea or coffee was very good and included local sausages and bacon.
The room on the other hand was not as clean as it should have been and was extremely dated and dull. The instruction to get breakfast at 8.30 or miss out we felt was a bit heavy handed.
The staff were friendly and helpful but despite some positives we would not use this accommodation again.

Room Tip: Please read review
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

The staff and more specifically the owner at this place really do not understand customer service. We stayed here as part of a group doing the coast to coast cycle route. When we checked in the person on duty was loading something outside, saw us park up unload our bags and go into the bar. He made no attempt to come inside and deal with us and even after finishing outside took a while to come to the bar, we must have been stood at the bar waiting for at least 10 minutes. When we eventually checked in the room was a bit shabby, not dirty but very tired. The beds were very uncomfortable very soft mattress and hard pillows. We came down to the bar for a few drinks before going into Keswick to eat. The bar staff had changed and the young girls manning the bar were very friendly and attentive and the real ale was good.
On returning after our meal we had a few more drinks and then an early night ready for the cycling in the morning.
The breakfast was served at 8.30 PROMPT - you are left in no doubt, dont show at 8.30, dont eat. One of our number asked that his breakfast was served minus tomatos, reaction from the owner "you should have told me this last night". Not exacly taxing in my book to make a minor change to a breakfast. The meal itself was pretty poor, no choice, 1 bacon, 1 sausage, 1 spoon of beans etc etc, really very poor. Coffee was cold.
The big downside here is the complete lack of customer service and the place could do with a good coat of paint and replacement beds. Sorry but not a place we will be booking into again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WokSmuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Five things attracted us to this Pub during our sojourn to The Lakes;
1.It had vacancies
2.It had good parking facilities ( a bonus in Keswick)
3.It was only a 15 minute slow walk to the town centre
4. It had a large banner on the outside declaring it to be Regional Community Pub of The Year Winner 2010!
5. The outside was festooned with a wonderful array of window baskets full of beautiful blooms.
The rooms are priced in the cheap end of local amenities at £35 pp for an ensuite double. The reason is evident once a close look is taken inside. Our room was smallish with a tiny en-suite comprising a loo, wash basin and shower cubicle. The bed was uncomfortable, the pillows hard, the light above the mirror in the en-suite didn't work and there was dried toothpaste in the bottom of the beaker by the sink!
Nothing was actually dirty but everywhere looked dank and a bit tacky. There were piles of laundry(?) stacked in the corridor to the rooms. The decor is faded and we just felt a tad unclean in this place although I stress this was a perception more than any thing of substance we found. Our bedspread was apparently being washed and it was passed to us about 6pm as we were showering after our day's walk.
The pub menu is not vast but it does have specials of the day. Scampi and chips cost £8.95 if I remember correctly and most meals fall in this price range. The food quality is reasonable, my wife's curry was excellent! Breakfast was good with the exception of my Joan of Arc sausage ( burnt at the stake) and the rationing of the thimble full of orange juice pre-placed on the tables, no second glass or choice here. Toast was the same each toast rack had one slice per person despite there being room for more. Perhaps we could have had more if we had asked!
The hosts are very pleasant and helpful and that always makes it hard to write a less than complimentary review but the sad fact is we (all four of us) found this place to be shabby. It's name is derived from a Rabbie Burns poem of the same name, he apparently used to stay in Keswick whilst meeting up with the Lake poets. It felt almost as if the pub hadn't had a re-vamp since then, ergo we were astonished to discover it was built in 1966.
Sadly I cannot recommend this pub as a place to stay in Keswick.

Room Tip: Personally I would look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank majdf18148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We (group of six friends) stopped at the Twa Dogs for lunch and a beer today. We ordered our bar meals and waited, and waited. 35 minutes later five of the six bar meals arrived. The bar man had got the order wrong and missed the sixth meal. It was ordered and we waited again. 15 minutes later it arrived, but it was not served with fresh veg and the veg plate that had been delivered with the first meals had gone cold. The bar man then came over to say that he was putting the sixth meal through the till and could we come to the bar to pay. We asked if he was going to charge given the problems and he replied ‘you’re eating it so you’ll have to pay for it’. I thought that kind of appalling service didn’t happen any more. To add to our disappointment the quality of the food was only adequate at best, overcooked soggy veg and overcooked dried out pork. I live in the Lake District and will be telling my friends not to visit the Twa Dogs. I will never go there again, and I recommend that you don’t – there are so many better places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scubaron10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twa Dogs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twa Dogs Inn

Property: Twa Dogs Inn
Address: Twa Dogs Inn Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Twa Dogs Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing