We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cat Bells - fantastic”

Catbells Lakeland Walk
Ranked #2 of 64 things to do in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cat Bells - fantastic”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have been to the Lake District twice now and loved it everytime, the weather was rubbish the second time around but decided to do Cat Bells walk anyway, luckily for us, the weather was hot that day (the only dry day out of 7) Beautfiul scenery, the walk itself is not too hard there was plenty of young children doing it there is a bit of climbing to do so be careful. We were not sure where Cat Bells mountain ended (all the mountains seem to join up together) so without us knowing we unded up doing an extra walk up two more mountains, my 8 year old son was not happy, we back - tracked and walked back to Cat Bells, the walk down the mountain path (lots of steps) was steep and hurt my back, really enjoyed it though, great cruise across Derwent Water.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    995
    170
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to wander”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

BEAUTIFUL WALK! Two levels to choose from -- one way up high and the other about halfway up. Not a bad view to be found!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leigh Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Easy walk round bottom”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

You can have a walk round the lower slope of Catbellls with lovely views of the lake .This is made easier if you take the Keswick launch to Howe`s End and walk to get back on boat 2 stops down the water .

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank blackfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Cat Bells is certainly not for the pushchair brigade but allows access to a fell and brilliant views without too much hassle.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank welshlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gomersal, West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The walk aroud the lake was my favourite. Although it's about 10 miles long, it's mainly flat. My husband preferred going up to the summit of Catbells or the views.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank FannyFanackerpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catbells Lakeland Walk also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Buttermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Catbells Lakeland Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing