We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to eat in Keswick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Top notch food, whatever you choose off the menu. Lovely attentive staff and very clean. Steak has to be tasted to be believed. Homemade chocolate bread and butter pudding - WOW. So good we have been back twice and will return again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyFamilys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear HappyFamilys1

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Kings Arms. I'm glad you enjoyed your meals and that you found our staff to be helpful and attentive.

I hope we see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 476 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 1 night with our 2 dogs. We stayed in room 7 which was small but nice and spotless. All staff very friendly and helpful. Very handy gettin parking permit from hotel as car parks charges are expensive in keswick! Breakfast was ok, had fruit salad (tinned!!) selection of cereals, crossiants, yohurts and fresh fruit. You can also have a full English cooked to order which Was nice.would stay again. .location is brill and for a Friday night I slept really well very quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Miacat

Thank you for your review, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and it’s great that both of your dog’s got to come along and join in the holiday too

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We did not stay but ate at the pub with the family and dog and the food was good and cheap. We liked it very much. It was a warm summers night and out dog and we enjoyed being outside. The staff are friendly and courteous. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear AndyPhillips1969

Thank you for dining with us at the Kings Arms and for leaving us a positive review

It’s nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your meal and that you were looked after by our friendly team. We hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had two nights here - rooms recently refurbished and ok stairs up to room not easy. Further refurbishment to be done apparently. Breakfast was not too good with some parts cool and toast was not with butter.
Not able to park outside as square pedestrianised and car park a 3 minute walk away at rear
Overall probably would look elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paulbd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here for a short break for 4 days , rooms clean with good facilities. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Parking is free, on a council run car park which is a short walk away to the rear of the hotel.
Breakfast is delicious and the waiting staff are friendly, efficient and efficient and you can order choice of cooked breakfast & buffet, the cooked breakfast was expertly cooked , no frazzled bacon or over cooked eggs etc.
I would not recommend for the elderly or disabled as the rooms are upstairs with no lift
There is, as mentioned before a lot of noise from the nightclub patrons as they leave the nightclub at around 2-3am and also around 6-8 am in mornings as street sweepers, beer barrel deliveries and setting up of market stalls occurs less than 20 feet from your window.
Another small gripe to us was the bar area being used by Keswick locals as a gathering spot for drinking from lunchtime till late afternoon and while not rowdy was not particularly welcoming to visitors having to sidle into the bar between the 'fixtures' who took up all the space on the barstools sitting and the spaces in between standing drinking and talking to each other over your head as you struggled to get into the bar.
Overall not a bad hotel, with some very good and some not so good points

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandals_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The rooms were lovely, newly done up to a high standard. Very nice decor, great bathroom, very modern without being minimalist - a nice place to spend our time. Some nice little touches - ear plugs provided, free parking, nice shower gels, nice tea and biscuits and bath robes shows they go the extra mile. The TV was fab, i know you dont go on holiday to watch tv but it was a good one.
The pub is nice as well, a good one for fans of whisky, great selection. We didnt eat there so cant comment on the food.
Bad points - well it is noisy till late and from early. so in the summer you have the windows open and its loud. but we knew that, i am a very lite sleeper so we brought ear plugs. they actually provided some anyway which was nice, so it wasnt an issue. they provide a fan as well which is a nice touch. Ear plugs in, off we went to slumber land. We loved the central location and this is the price you pay. But they do have triple glazing so in winter its probably not an issue.
More bad points means im being uber picky and down to personal taste. odd music selection for the pub - Ed Sheran or what ever his name is, miserable sod just didnt fit in with the relaxing atmosphere of the pub. but to their credit we mentioned it and they changed it. Unfortunately to some modern trance crap. Im 31 but I am a fuddy duddy. The breakfast was so so. Nothing to write home about but nothing terrible. I know it isnt a bnb but i did miss that interaction with the owner, in the morning over breakfast, chatting to them discussing what our plans were or getting recommendations for things to do. So all minor niggles.
All in all a great price for a fantastic room, fab location and great pub.

Room Tip: The front is the main street, the back has the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gtownpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here overnight - rooms very clean and comfortable. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was delicious - buffet and choice of cooked breakfasts. Parking at the rear is free but you have to obtain a permit when you check in. Would love to come back in Winter as the pub and the rooms are very cosy.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank HotelLover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear HotelLover2

Thank you for such a lovely review from your recent stay

We're pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and would love to welcome you back in the winter months, keep an eye on our website to see all of the available offers.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
661 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,150 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $118 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing