We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was GREAT value”

Threlkeld Quarry and Mining Museum
Ranked #18 of 64 things to do in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was GREAT value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We arrived after following the signs from the highway. Unfortunately the sat. nav wanted to take us to another mining museumplace but we ignored it and we are glad we did. We arrived late but they were able to fit us into the last tour. Donald is a super tour guide, informative but not boring- just right. The mine is interesting. We had no idea that a beautiful region had such a long industrial background. Well worth the 90 minutes we spent there. Thanks John and Donald it was a great intro to the region. We have paid far more for tickets that were much less fun.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FHolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    61
    10
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Mine closed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Mine was closed owing to staff shortages but enjoyed looking around. What potential this site has but would take a lot of money to get all the machines lined up!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Highlander947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting, informative and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

The mining museum is run by a team of dedicated volunteers, with a genuine passion for the area and its heritage. Donald took us down the mine and knew the answer to every one of our questions, as well as telling us incredibly interesting facts about Threlkeld's mine and quarry. If you ring before you go, you can find out tour and train running times, which can help you get the most out of your visit. Well worth a visit - highly recommendend, and so important to help this small but very enthusiastic community thrive. Perfect for couples, families or even on your own!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank LillyR186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

First impressions was how disorginisied the place was, however by the end of the visit this just added to the charm of the place.
Quarry has a small musuem tracing the hisotry of mining, a mine tour and a ride on an old steam train.
Worth a visit just to go on the under ground tour with one of the guides which are all characters and the 10 min trip on the steam train, musuem very in depth on rocks etc young kids will get easily bored with it and TBH honest if not that into rocks then give it a miss especially if you have younger kids, however both he mine tour and train are worth a look.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank vwmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not working”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

18th May 2012 made our way to the quarry, museum very informative but cold if away from the shop fire. My passion is the railways so on enquiring when they were running we were told that they were not as it was a bit off season. My On the Rails directory clearly states that they run daily as does the tourist leaflet we picked up. Even the engine shed was closed. Very very disappointing

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank peterpansfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Threlkeld Quarry and Mining Museum also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Threlkeld Quarry and Mining Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing