We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paddock Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Castlerigg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
57
19
3
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
19
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconservative clubtown centrecash or chequeb bon easter sundayshort walkfinishing touchestea coffee making facilitieshome from homecar parkingother guestsperfect hostsvaldesmondcurtainswardrobebreak
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 84 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We have stayed here 6 times before and have already booked for 2010. The welcome is always warm, friendly and genuine. The rooms are spotless, well decorated and comfortable. The breakfast is more than adequate and does set you up for the day. It is located a short walk from the town of Keswick and Fitz Park is just over the river again a short walk away. A delightful place which is always a plesaure to come back to after a day out in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakelandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

As big Keswick fans, we have stayed at The Paddock 3 times now, and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else now. Val and Alan are delightful, and nothing is too much trouble. the rooms are spotless and the breakfasts are consistantly superb.
A short and pleasant walk takes you right into the centre of Keswick, and as well as private parking at the Paddock, there are no parking restrictions on the surrounding roads either.
10/10 for The Paddock :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaffandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Stayed here one night. There were a lot of signs around the place telling you what you could or could not do , and the one in the bathroom about not having a bath to ensure there was enough hot water for other guests was a bit cheeky, considering breakfast was only available between 8.15 and 8.45am! and check out at 10am. Breakfast was average, nothing to write home about, and although friendly, we felt the business was run to suit the lifestyle of the owners, rather that of the guest.
Wont go back, will try somewhere else next time, so on that we cant recomend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malagaboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We recently stayed for 5 nights at The Paddock. We felt it had a lovely, warm relaxed atmosphere, it was very comfortable and was in a perfect location. The room was lovely, and the owners extremely welcoming. I must say the breakfasts are the best we've had, excellent to set you up for a day out walking.
We can't wait to go back, and would definitely recommend it to everyone. We didn't want to leave!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADHOLMES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a very complicated trip to Edinburgh for the Heineken Cup Final..... Val made us very welcome and we were given our own keys so that we could come and go as we pleased. This was very helpful on the day we went to Edinburgh as we had a late return after the game and would not have relished an irate landlady waiting up for us!

Our room was well appointed, comfortable bed, large wardrobe, chest of drawers and a tea-tray with lots of different items. The en-suite bathroom was big and there was a nice selection of toiletries.

The breakfasts were excellent, with extra tea and toast constantly on offer. Val was very hepful with various information about the local area and beyond, as was her assistant (sorry, name unknown!).

The Paddocks is very well situated about a 5 minute walk from the centre and opposite the lovely Fitz Park and the river. We were able to park in the yard every night but there's plenty free on street parking as well.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews