We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
63
20
3
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
20
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconservative clubtown centrecash or chequefull englishon easter sundaytea coffee making facilitiesfinishing touchescar parkingwouldn't stay anywhere elsehome from homeon site parkingstayed here for nightsbreakfast choicesexcellent hostsshort breakother guestscomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 91 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay immensely. The room was very comfortable and looked like it had been recently refurbished. Comfy bed, lovely en suite shower room. The hosts, Val and Alan, were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts were freshly cooked and tasty - not greasy at all and the sausages were delicious! The B&B is situated a short walk from the centre of Keswick so very convenient. Parking is provided and if this is full there are two spaces at the nearby conservative club which guests can use. I would not hesitate to recommend PGH to anyone and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosiebav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Have used the PGH a number of times for one night stays and a full week and always found the accommodation comfortable, the food freshly cooked and well presented; the owners are very friendly and show an interest in their visitors. Would certainly recommend this GH.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in 9 B&B's in the UK. 7 were very good to terrific. PGH was the worst. The room was minuscule, even by UK standards. No chair, drawers, etc. No room for them. You had to get in the bed from the foot of it...no room on either side. Lack of service by the owners. Weak, crummy coffee. Order bacon & eggs and you'll get one egg. The "fresh fruit" was mostly out of a can. Several other things, but you get the picture. Our worst experience, not even close.

Room Tip: A theory: Avoid "guest houses" that let 6-8 rooms. They are purely businesses that have less care for your comfort. Try for B&B's with 1-3 rooms. The owners are more invested personally in your stay.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oregontraveller597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here for the first two nights of my trip, which was a good experience. The price is reasonable, the surroundings are very beautiful, easy walking to different locations. The landlords are quite friendly. The twin room with the showroom are newly decorated and very comfortable, especially after the one day hiking on the mountain.

The only problem is the curtain. In the morning, it will be a bit too bright and make us wake up early. But it can be easily improved. Overall I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happiness F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Paddock after the first day of cycling the C2C route. It was very comfortable and welcoming! There was a secure spot for our bikes. The room was a bit small but it was fine for one night. We enjoyed walking into town for dinner and around the park across the street. I had the continental breakfast which was really nice and a change from a heavy fry before cycling another 30 or so miles! The route picks up across the road which was also very convenient

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patti m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews