We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A themed and friendly cafe....”

The Filling Station
Ranked #19 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family friendly 60's themed cafe diner on the outskirts of Keswick, just 150yds from the A66 with off road private parking and plenty of outside seating. 'Highly Commended' by Cumbria Life Magazine in the 2013 Food & Drink Awards and finalists again in 2015. We offer local freshly ground coffee from John Watt & Sons and an extensive menu including all-day breakfasts, Brunch, a wide range of Lakeland Steakburgers, Eggs Benedict and sweet or savoury American Buttermilk pancake stacks and a wide range of vegetarian options.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A themed and friendly cafe....”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have eaten at this cafe many times, usually trying different things on the menu. I think my favourite is the BBQ burger. the breakfasts are good and of decent size. The coffee is a little on the dear side, but as i am a heavy coffee drinker, the selections of coffee is good. Service can be a little slow sometimes when the cafe is busy, but the food is worth the wait. I have taken my grandson who is five and he loved it, (he said it's Better then McDonald's, which is a great compliment from him.) The staff are pleasant and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitewater72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    112
    32
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cool, retro cafe”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A nice change from the traditional, chintzy Lakeland cafe. A retro-styled cafe serving excellent food, on one of the main roads into Keswick. The pancake, bacon and maple syrup stack was particularly good, and bacon sandwich also recommended. Large mugs of tea and coffee. Comfortable 50s-style booths, friendly service, clean and good value. The motorbike memorabilia is also interesting, with music that took us back - the Stones, Led Zep etc. Parking also easy plus free wi-fi. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dianewailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We visit Keswick several times a year, and were interested to see the filling station cafe open. It took until I read a review here before we ventured in, what a waste! This little cafe is great! We went for breakfast, and loved the maple bacon buttermilk pancake stack best, but the full English went down very well too. Very relaxed, nice atmosphere, well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alihalimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
622 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great pancakes and coffee...”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Nice place but not a lot of choice on the menu...what they do do though is very good. Great decor, quirky, very nicely styled but could do with more seating...as there are only tables for 4 or a counter we had to share our table with another couple which was ok but not ideal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great find on the outskirts of Keswick. Excellent breakfast,great coffee,friendly staff,relaxed atmosphere with stylish retro themed decor. Good value for money and well worth the trip out of the busy town centre to sit and chill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank breakfastfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Filling Station also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Filling Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing