We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fell short”

The Filling Station
Ranked #19 of 129 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family friendly 60's themed cafe diner on the outskirts of Keswick, just 150yds from the A66 with off road private parking and outside seating. 'Highly Commended' by Cumbria Life Magazine in the 2013 Food & Drink Awards and finalists again in 2015. We offer freshly ground coffees and an extensive menu including all-day breakfasts, a wide range of Lakeland Steakburgers and sweet or savoury American Buttermilk pancake stacks in addition to a wide range of vegetarian dishes.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fell short”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Was excited to hear there was a biker cafe in the lakes but sadly it was a waste of money. I ordered a latte and 'steak' burger costing over ten pounds. Coffee sucked (cant believe people cant get this right these days) and [--] knows what they are thinking calling these burgers steak burgers, no difference to a road side cafe burger except the price. Fries were good, salad was old/limp and drowned in balsamic to hide it. The place lacked authenticity of what i think they were trying to be (retro 40's50's diner) and the staff lacked interest in serving a new custom.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joshuag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    112
    32
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“fab wee cafe”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

this was our first visit in september. We had lunch breakfast and quite a few coffees.
Very clean inside and great decor. can also sit outside and park.
Food great really enjoyed their burgers. Service very friendly and helpfull.
Wish we could have dinner there but they are not open late.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracyamoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visited this place after hearing about it at a bike shop.
A lovely little cafe and I had a good burger too.
It's a cracking ride out to get there too.
I will certainly be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NO BIKE REQUIRED!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Now the fourth or fifth visit. Never disappointed. Great food, nicely presented and courteously served. Love the décor and the old motorbike on display adds to the atmosphere. Walking distance from Town Centre - pity they don't open in the evenings. Parking outside or just a few yards away in the park. Wish I could go more often!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worse than Poor”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visited this "cafe" on a Saturday afternoon, it wasn't busy, just a few people sitting at tables outside, I ordered scrambled eggs on toast, my friends ordered burgers apart from one who ordered the soup off the specials board, we heard the "cook" shout from the kitchen the soup was in the freezer and not "right" - so another burger was ordered, my scrambled eggs arrived, the eggs were a pale peach colour, am presuming it was powdered eggs!! the toast was sopping wet underneath, completely inedible, I took the plate back only for it to be replaced with similar but with slightly less water in the toast, my friends burgers were not up to standard, the thick balsamic dressing covered the whole of the salad, no cutlery was brought with the food, we had to ask for it, same with the salt etc, tables outside were left uncleared, so wasps were aplenty, this place is not cheap, burgers were £8:95, there are many other places to eat in this area, I wouldn't recommend anyone eating here, it was very poor on all levels.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Tillyflop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Filling Station also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Filling Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing