We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owners, great location, clean and tidy…”
Review of Ravensworth House

Ravensworth House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravensworth House
Ranked #130 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2009

My partner booked The Ravensworth Hotel for a two night birthday break for me. We found the owners very welcoming (we arrived quite late at about 8.30pm on the Friday) and the room was clean and tidy. The bed was a little on the small side (but we had a small room) this isn’t a criticism, just an observation. All the furnishings, sinks, toilets, taps, carpets etc look like they have recently been replaced so the whole place is very clean and pleasant.

The location is perfect for walking into Keswick, loads of restaurants and pubs a 5 min walk away. The owners went out of their way to recommend places to eat to us. We were also able to borrow walking books and maps for the 2 walks we did (we actually did the ones we were recommended by the owners).

Parking (1 min walk round the corner) was included in our room rate and we were told we could hang onto the permit after we’d checked out so we could wander round the town centre a little more – very thoughtful.

I’d definitely recommend The Ravensworth Hotel to friends and family and we’ll stay there again next time we visit Keswick.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Ravensworth House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

Arriving rather late with disabled farther in-law, set of drums, piano, amplification system ( to perform at Keswick Jazz festival) we were warmly and calmly welcomed and greatly assisted by Jason. The immaculate room had a view over the rooftops to the hills and the sun shone all the time ( at no extra charge). There were guide books and maps to borrow and an extra parking permit arranged for a member of my band.
This is a guest house not an hotel: if you can find somewhere better please let me know as we enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The poached eggs alone are worth the visit.
( The band was brillant too!)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

This was our second stay at The Ravensworth- this time we spent four nights there for the Jazz festival. We are surprised by the negative comments recently posted on Trip Advisor. Both Jason and Alison have always been very welcoming and generous hosts- with plenty of advice about local amenities etc if required. The bedrooms and public areas are immaculately clean and well decorated. The breakfasts are wonderful both in terms in quality and quantity. The parking pass for one of the local car parks is a real bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rothwell40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

My wife and I have have stayed at the Ravensworth on several occasions over the past few years. We consider ourselves to be quite fussy regarding where we stay for our holidays and short breaks away. The fact that we return to the Ravensworth each time we visit Keswick speaks volumes. The first time we met the proprietors, Jason and Alison, they made every effort to make us feel welcome and this continued throughout the rest of our stay. They advised us on where to eat and places to visit, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotlessy clean and ordering breakfast the night before did not pose a problem for us. The breakfast is excellant and cooked fresh to order from locally sourced produce. In the breakfast room there is a plentiful choice of cereals, juices and endless supply of tea and coffee. What more could you want? A bonus is the parking permit provided, free of charge for a nearby car park. Not many hotels would provide this facility.
Each time we have returned to the Ravensworth, Jason and Alison have never failed to deliver anything less than excellent service and quality accomodation.
The location is ideal for anyone who wishes to stay in the centre of Keswick and is central for visiting other areas of the Lake District.
We have recommened the Ravensworth to several family members and friends and we will continue to return ,we hope for many years to come. Well done Jason and Alison, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in Apr 09 (along with friends) and generally had a very nice time. Keswick is a buzzing little town with more than enough pubs and restaurants to cater to all tastes, and of course, is surrounded by beautiful scenery. We opted for the Ravensworth, and picked their best room , "Derwentwater" as a special treat.
Pros:
* Great location just a few hundred yards walk from the town centre. However, this did mean our room (at the front of the hotel) was quite noisy at night when drunken revellers were turned out of the pubs!
* Room was very nice, with plenty of space. Well furnished, with a comfy king sized 4 poster bed.
* Landlord was very friendly and helpful, and gave some very good recommendations for places to eat.;
Cons:
* Arrangements for checking in and the need to pre-order the night before what you wanted for breakfast seemed regimented and over fussy (agree with comments of the previous reviewer).
* The landlady has a strange attitude bordering on the unfriendly, not the sort of welcome you expect. She did "thaw" by the end of our stay however. It wasn't just us felt this way, our two sets of friends who arrived independently totally agreed.

Would we recommend it? Not sure really. I suspect there are other nice places with warmer welcomes to be found in Keswick...

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pwbombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavensworthHotel, Proprietor at Ravensworth House, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2009

I am really saddened to read this review. This particular guest received several recommendations during his stay, from where to eat, good walks, provided with walking books and given advice and directions. They had independantly booked a table of 6 in a local pub and when they were asking me about other places to eat and their wish to cancel the table, I offered to cancel their reservation for them, saving them time during their stay. We let them keep hold of the parking permit on the last day so that they did not have to pay for their parking as they were spending time in Keswick. We tried on several occassion to engage in conversation and they seemed happy. Their friends spent 5 minutes in the town centre talking to me when they had checked out saying how happy they were and what a lovely time they had and that they hoped to return. I am genuinely saddened that someone would then mark our level of service as 1 out of 5. I do appreciate the comments from all of our guests and take on board all comments, whether positive or negative but to be assessed 1 out of 5 for this does seems a little harsh.

Our breakfast choice is extensive and we ask our guests if it is possible to order their breakfast the night before. We also say in our welcome book in each room that we appreciate some people do not know what they would prefer to eat until the morning and that it isn't a problem if they do order in the morning. It isn't and never has been a problem if people do not choose their breakfast order until the morning when they enter the dining room, why would it be? Given the variety on offer on our menu, we simply try to assist service by ordering if possible at night.

We put our heart and soul into our work and this shows and most people comment on this. Our levels of repeat trade are very good and we feel hurt when guests leave having had anything other than a pleasant experience. In most cases people are very happy with us, occasionally some are not. One thing that tends to happen is the happy ones tell their friends and family and return without putting a positive comment on tripadvisor for whatever reason and the ones who feel unhappy or let down for whatever reason nearly always put a comment on tripadvisor.

Our check in times are before 12 noon or after 4pm. We advise all of our guests that we cannot guarantee that we are in between the hours of 12 and 4 as we have shopping to do, children to collect from school and our own little break away from the business during these 4 hours. There are times when we are in and we do allow guests to check in if they arrive between 12 and 4 but only if we are in. In most cases this seems to work but there are obviously some people who are not going to be happy with this. Although we try, we cannot please everybody all of the time.

Jason Dodson
Proprietor, Ravensworth House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Not recommended if you require a relaxed friendly atmosphere. Proprietors try to appear welcoming but come across as anxious and fraught. Risk getting your breakfast order wrong or forgetting your front door key at your peril - you will incur the wrath of the potentially very rude and aggressive landlady!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marblehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavensworthHotel, Proprietor at Ravensworth House, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2009

This particular guest was part of a group of 6, on a walking holiday from Ireland. 5 of them were lovely, respectable people who would be most welcome back at any time. They kindly wrote a lovely comment in the guest book and took a number of our 'cards' to give out to family and friends. This particular guest unfortunately left a real sour taste for us and other guests. The 'key' incident was a disgrace on his behalf. He had gone out with the group and came back alone having spent the evening in the pubs in the town centre. He arrived back to us alone at 11.30pm without his keys. He kept his finger constantly on the door bell. Obviously we do not sit by the door bell at any time of the day waiting for it to ring and when the bell does ring it may take us a little while to get to the door but not an excessive amount. At the time of night that the door bell rang, we were obviously in a relaxed state and in bed trying to sleep. As we didn't answer the bell immediately he just kept ringing the bell, taking no consideration of other guests. When we arrived at the door and let him in we asked if he needed the key to get to his room. He said no as his friends were already back. This was not the case as we found out 30 minutes later (now midnight). Again a constant ringing of the door bell. This led to my wife Alison coming to attend to him. She was abrupt with the guest as she said we were in bed trying to sleep, it was midnight and we had offered to let him in the room initially and he would disturb our other guests at that time of night by keeping his finger on the doorbell.
We welcome all people to our home. The only thing we ask is people show respect by considering our other guests when coming in late at night. Most people are considerate and respectfull. There are some however, who show no regard for other people, take no responsibility for their actions and it is a real shame as it leaves a sour taste for everyone, ourselves included.
He even left very early on the morning of departure, leaving his friends to check out. There was no apology for his actions the previous evening or anything.

I must stress that the other 5 in his party were a real pleasure and we look forward to meeting them again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

My boyfriend and I needed a break since neither of us has had a proper holiday in years. Much to our delight, The Ravensworth was perfect - great location and just within our price range. As many reviews before mine have said, this B&B is fantastic. We stayed in the Walla Crag room, with a huge comfortable sleigh bed and an awesome spa bath in the en suite. The room was spotless, with a great view over Keswick. Breakfast in the morning was very tasty, and the 'order before bed' idea made perfect sense. Jason and Alison were both lovely and we even got tips on where to eat and drink nearby! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay over the weekend and that was largely due to the wonderful accommodation. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth_Iron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
4.7 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#16 of 17 in Keswick
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keswick Park Hotel
Keswick Park Hotel
#112 of 189 in Keswick
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Ravensworth
The Ravensworth
#23 of 107 in Windermere
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#84 of 189 in Keswick
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#85 of 189 in Keswick
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensworth House

Address: 29 Station Street, Keswick CA12 5HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $117 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ravensworth House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ravensworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing