We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compliments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #62 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Compliments”
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We were made very welcome to this well appointed Guest House.

Room was first class and breakfast extremely good, it set us up very well, for the day

Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglas246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    37
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
291
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

After years of driving through the Lake District on the M6 motorway en route to Scotland we finally decided to pay a visit to the area and decided on a two night stay in Keswick.
We booked into the Glendale guest house in Keswick at relativley short notice and what an inspired choice it proved to be. The guest house is spotlessly clean, the rooms and in particular the beds very comfortable and the breakfast is guaranteed to set you up for the day. The owners Gilly and Martin are ever so friendy and we only wished we had booked for longer.
The house is only a five minute walk from the lovely town centre and only a ten minute walk to the banks of the Derwent Water.
Keswick itself is a gem of a place. There are no chav kids, no litter on the streets, no stag do weekends or troops of drunken kids causing mayhem only people who are there for the same reasons we were, in short, decent, friendly people.
We will be back next year for a longer break without a doubt.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank daveadams25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Stayed here on August Bank holiday with my girlfriend, to be honest I cant speak highly enough off this B&B - its got a great location 5 mins walk to keswick town centre, easy to find, great , clean, tidy rooms, great TV, great shower, comfy beds, great breakfast and really freindly owners who will do anything they can to make your stay a real pleasure.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Keswick again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JA1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We were looking for a B&B located in Keswick so that we could explore the local hills and mountains during a short walking break. The Glendale Guest House is located very near the centre of town, so near in fact that we never used the car whilst we were staying at the B&B. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is really good! Just what you need before attempting a climb up Skiddaw on a misty morning.
You will not be dissapointed with this B&B for amenities, location and facilities. A real hidden gem. *Note - if you want to use the Leisure Pool for its GYM facilities make sure you bring a user card from your local gym as proof of competency.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The Glendale guest house is in a great location in Keswick, only 5 minutes walk from the town centre. The service is friendly and efficient, with the breakfasts being very good. The rooms are spacious and clean and the beds very comfortable. I could not have asked for any more from my stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2009

5 Minute walk from the centre of Keswick, the Glendale is situated in the heartland of B&B's.
We selected the Glendale from its initial appearance and the selection of breakfasts - the room and bathroom were spotless and very tastefully decorated in neutral colours. The breakfast menu was excellent starting with cereals or porridge and then followed by either the full English ( which was very well cooked, presented and tasted really nice), a vegetarian grill, boiled eggs, croissants or scrambled eggs. None of these choices disappointed and were all accompanied with filter coffee or tea and orange/apple juice.
The owners Martin and Gilly were very friendly and welcoming and nothing appeared too much trouble.

All in all it was a very enjoyable stay in a very nice B&B run by nice people. What more could you ask for

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Great place to stay for this area of the Lakes. Excellent quality breakfast, freshly cooked to order, with first course of porridge, cereal or fruit too - sets you up for a day's walking. Detailed mountain weather forecast provided, plus local info suitable for walks. Good clean room. Location - short walk to town centre; quiet road so no traffic noise; not far to walk to get a boat across the lake either! Welcoming and helpful hosts. Would stay again if wanting to be based in that area. Good for walking as buses available to various valleys. Loads of choice of eateries in Keswick, plus shops for hikers!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theobroox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#34 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#14 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#63 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#13 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing