We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glendale guest house - 1st class!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #57 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Glendale guest house - 1st class!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have just stayed for 2 nights in this very nice guest house. Very comfortable and squeaky clean.The room was well furnished with a quality finish throughout.The breakfast was beautifully cooked to order with lovely fresh fruit yogurts and cereals to start. Everything was of a high standard and well presented ...helpful owners with advice and ideas to make our trip memorable.We would certainly stay again if visiting Keswick.A short 5 minute walk to town an about 10 to the lovely Dewentwater...we took a boat trip to Ladore falls just behind the hotel....amazing.....we were recommended a visit to the pencil museum which is also worth a visit fir adults and children...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
What a smashing review, thank you.
We love to read about our little B&B described as 1st Class and it sounds like you had a really good time exploring the area. There is so much to do in and around Keswick and wqe hope that you visit again soon to see more or perhaps do it all again.
We are always happy to recommend walks and places to visit and have loads of maps etc.

See you soon

Martin & Gilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    38
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
293
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Gilly and Martin house in August 2013 to discover the beautiful Lake District from an animated and traditional city but also, close to mountains. The perfect place was all found with this very charming and so british house into Keswick. As a young french couple, we loved this peaceful and cocooning place and for sure, the local know-how at the breakfast or the local bathroom products (the shop is a five minutes walk away). Our room was not ensuite but we had our own bathroom next to the room. Last but not least, Gilly and Martin are very nice and helpful. Anna & Delphin

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you Anna & Delphin.
We were delighted to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your many compliments and we hope to see you again soon.
Martin & Gilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

we stayed here in september for my husbands 70th birthday. we had a lovely room, spotless. Food was great and all made so welcoming by Gilly and Martin. Would definately return here again, cannot fault it one bit. Top place and top people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marissatull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night before a wedding. The hosts were lovely and very welcoming, breakfast was delicious and our room was very pretty with lovely views. Our friends booked us in as they had stayed before and had very much enjoyed it, as did we. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SasW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

the Glendale is one great b&b Martin and Gilly were great hosts right from start to finish. The room was spotlessly clean. The breakfast menu has a wide choice I would recommend this b&b if you are staying in Keswick

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Glendale Guest House was one of the highlights of my trip to the Lakes District. Gilly and Martin are wonderful hosts. They are helpful, friendly and most welcoming. Our room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated with lots of extra touches. The bathroom was beautiful and included lovely toiletries. Breakfast was well presented, plentiful and delicious. Overall a charming B & B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Glendale is an outstanding B&B. Martin and Gilly are excellent hosts. The rooms are finished to a high standard and spotlessly clean. There is plenty of choice for breakfast and the quality of the food is very high. This was our third visit to Glendale and we hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#41 of 175 in Keswick
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#71 of 175 in Keswick
108 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing