We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Late Night Knocking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #54 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A drive down from Edinburgh to the charming town of Keswick in the late evening of August 27th was pleasant with some scenic countryside roads.... until a little bit of distress (on my part) sets in given that we didn't have any accommodation booked for the night and there were one too many 'No Vacancies' displayed on windows of guesthouses.

But a knock on Glendale's front door with Martin's surprised expression and a warm smile greeted our apologetic faces. He graciously showed us a double room on the first floor and we loved it! The little chandelier lighting gave the room a warm and cosy glow and reflected how well-kept the room was. Needless to say, we had a very comfortable night.

Breakfast the next morning was superb with generous portions.. And a chat with Martin and Gilly about places to visit was incredibly helpful. We took a drive to places that they recommended and were absolutely thrilled with it!

We couldn't have expressed our gratitude more towards Martin and Gilly for being gracious hosts.. A definite A++ for service and we will definitely make another visit should we be there the next time... Knocking much earlier of course!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hello Rachel.
Thank you for writing a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your day in the Lake District after you left us and that our suggestions were helpful.

I must have looked a little surprised as I remember it really was quite late when you arrived. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable nights sleep and that breakfast was what you needed.

Perhaps you will return on your next trip to the UK.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Glendale Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 413 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Went there for the long weekend (24th to 26th August), and the stay was absolutely wonderful! Stayed in the superior double room, which was spacious, clean and WELL worth the money! Breakfast was delicious, the area was a 10 min walk away from the lake and town.. On top of this, the couple that run the place, Martin and Gilly Lankester, were very friendly.. The only downside was the noisy shower.. But hey, it was only that one thing. Like the title says, my girlfriend and I are definitely staying here again, the next time we visit. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anojan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A very clean, comfortable and friendly Guest House. Martin and Gilly very helpful in what
to see and do in The Lake District. Breakfast to keep you going all day. Thoroughly
recommend a visit to this pleasant property, within easy walking distant of Keswick and
Derwenteater.

Room Tip: All rooms clean and well appointed
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Glendale is a gem! The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Breakfasts are superb and set you up for the day. Hosts, Martin and Gilly, are extremely welcoming. Location excellent; just a 5 min stroll to the centre of the town. We will definitely book again. Faultless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savannah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family have visited this guest house on a number of occasions and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Martin and Gilly are very welcoming and excellent hosts. The room was superior and breakfast was really good. On this occasion we took my brother in law who travels alot with his job and he was really impressed with the standard of accommodation. It is tremendously clean and only about 5 minutes into the centre.

We cant wait to go back. Full marks all round.

Many Thanks
Andrew Robinson

Room Tip: If you have a child you can ask for the family room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AArobinson1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our third visit to Glendale in the last 12 months, and again a hugely enjoyable week. The accomodation is kept spotlessly clean and tidy and is really comfortable. The power shower in the bathroom is great for waking up in the morning or relaxing after a hard days walking. Coffee and tea making facilities are excellent. Breakfast is superb with a great choice of cerals, fruit and yoghurt. The cooked breakfasts are quite simply delicious. In the heart of Keswick, Glendale provided a great opportunity for local walks and was just a short walk to all the Keswick Convention events. Although parking is on road, there was never a problem finding a space at what must be one of the busier times of the year. Martin and Gilly are wonderful hosts, always willing to share their extensive local knowledge, especially the local walking routes. With a combination of local paths, boats and buses its completly possible to explore the surrounding hills without using a car for days. Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freshairisgoodforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Glendale. Lovely breakfast every morning. Very comfortable room and a great nights sleep. Great hosts in Martin and Gilly. Glendale is a very short walk to the town centre with all the town has to offer. Would highly recommend this guest house to all. Hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffandval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 189 in Keswick
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#80 of 189 in Keswick
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#59 of 189 in Keswick
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#15 of 189 in Keswick
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $106 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing