We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glendale Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Castlerigg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveler rating
376
40
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
376
40
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseb bporridgewarm welcometown centreroom was spotlesspubs and restaurantsfull englishlovely guesthousewouldn't stay anywhere elsefive minute walkwould stay againset you up for the dayplenty of choicelovely breakfastexcellent staystreet parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 421 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you want a clean B&B then this one is for you. Not a speck of dust to be found and I am one to look!!
Martin and Gilly are so helpful and friendly which makes them the perfect hosts. They will not only give you advice on walks they will also help you when your slightly hungover with a lost wallet!!
The breakfast was presented well with a good selection of cereal, yogurt, fruit, seeds and juice followed by a hot choice.
The house is decorated and maintained to a high standard. You will not be disappointed. We shall return. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Glendale B&B at the end of May, it's a great place to spend a few days, Martin and Gilly were lovely with great advice on walks and places to visit. The guest house is immaculate, the bedroom was well proportioned with a good size on-suite that was spotless. There was a great breakfast selection and the "full English" was delicious. We would definitely recommend this guest house and will no doubt return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula_Chris_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had been staying in Keswick for a few days and decided to extend our stay by one night. We ended up at Glendale and were really impressed. We booked a superior room, which was small but well arranged, and the bathroom was big enough that you weren't bumping into things. The only issue here was that the towels were very small, which was a shame. The room was beautifully decorated, as was the rest of the guest house, and the owners were very friendly and helpful. The bed was amazingly comfy and the bed linen felt very luxurious. There was a hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities, and the iPod dock in the radio was a nice touch. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and the coffee was served in proper cafetières, which was really nice. We had a lovely night's stay and would definitely have stayed for longer if we could. The guest house was a little more expensive than the one we had been staying in before but we felt there were more touches of luxury for our money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camillala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Glendale Guest House during the recent May Bank Holiday. Gilly and Martin were very welcoming and the superior en-suite double room was spacious and clean. Breakfast is served between 8.30 and 9.00 am; there was a good selection, including cooked meal and catered for all dietary requests. The guest house is in walking distance of the centre of Keswick, theatre, etc., and although there is no onsite parking and it was an extremely busy weekend it was possible to park in a nearby street when unable to do so in the same road. We would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to others. Dawn and Dave

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for visiting us at Glendale and we are delighted you enjoyed your time here and found your stay comfortable.
We hope you can visit again soon.
Martin & Gilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Glendale Guest House at the end of May bank holiday and what a wonderful time we had here! We arrived around about 4pm and was greeted by Gilly who booked us in and showed us to our room. They have a fantastic comments book on local places to eat, where people can leave reviews of places... so you won't end up at a bad place!

The room was beautiful and clean - the whole place look like it is new, but it isn't. Gilly and Martin take pride in their establishment! We went out for a meal, came back and fell asleep at 7:30pm! I had a restless night but that is due to a herniating disc in my back, and the room would go hot and cold (condensation on the windows in the morning).

Breakfast is served between 8:30am and 9:00am - which has a great selection and cooked beautifully! Martin is on hand to give people walking advice too; information for newbies like my wife and I to information for the hardened hiker/climber!

They have an in/out board system so they don't disturb you if you have a lay in. Basically, when you leave the building, set it to "Out" and they'll know not to disturb you. It is also useful for a fire point of view too.

The only criticism I have is that the parking is on the road... and there are a lot of B&Bs on the same street so it is hard to get parked; but it looks the same all over Keswick!

Room Tip: Any room is nice - but the one on the front of the house gets sun from early morning until night :)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_and_Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hi James & Julia
Thanks for taking the time to review Glendale. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the glowing comments you make about our guesthouse.
We do enjoy talking with others who are enthusiastic about the area and are always happy to share our experience and knowledge of the Lakes. The walk around the lake is ideal to find out a bit about the area and we know you had a great experience from our conversation the following morning.
The Parking can be a bit tight at busy time such as Bank Holidays but that is the nature of this Victorian Town but we all find a place to park although not always right outside the house.
We look forward to your next visit and we will gladly provide you with other walks around Keswick and Derwentwater which you will surely enjoy just as much.
Best wishes. Martin & Gilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews