We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #54 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break at the Glendale Guest house in one word SPLENDID.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home,Gilly showed us to our room which was fantastically clean, bright and warm and asked us if we required anything or any local information. After a great nights sleep we were treated to a great choice at breakfast and nothing was to much for Martin or Gilly. Martin gave us the local weather report for the hills and was full of advice and knowledge to assist. We had a great time in Keswick made more so with our stay at the Glendale with Martin and Gilly. In short we will be back again and again. Thanks

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank redstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Glendale Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 413 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Yet another enjoyable visit to Glendale Guest House. Have stayed there many times before and always get a warm welcome from Gilly and Martin - I wouldn't stay anywhere else! The room was spotless and the bed so comfortable - just want you want after a walk in the hills. The breakfast was plentiful and beautifully cooked. Good location - short walk to Derwentwater and the town. Looking forward to returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswickjohn, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Glendale and thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments.
The winter has been cold in January so we strive to make the house as warm and cosy as possible and we are delighted you found everything warm and comfortable.
Even though the weather was not great you still managed to get out for some good walks which we know you enjoyed.
Thank you for visiting Glendale again and we hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our 4th stay in a year and fully enjoyed our stay again spotless room and very comfy bed and a great breakfast that will get you up any mountain, thanks again jilly and Martin for your hospitality we will be back asap.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had a short break at the Glendale (2 nights). Received a very warm welcome from Martin and Jilly. Our room was beautifully clean, cosy and the bed very comfortable. The ensuite sparkled! Breakfast was very good. Our hosts were always on hand to provide advice on walks and where to eat. A very enjoyable and relaxing break!

Room Tip: The street is quiet generally. Ours was a superior room so we got a king size bed. Otherwise it was...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltyluft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lovely stay. Great value for money. Excellent breakfast & hospitality. Only a short walk into town and to the lake. The George hotel is a lovely place to have a meal, as is Casa Bella. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aizgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We received a warm welcome from the owners and they offered to help us with our bags. The room was en suite and well appointed and spotlessly clean. The owners will provide recommendations for places to eat or guest recommendations are in a book in the hall. The owners will recommend walks to suit all abilities. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our first time at this superb guest house, it was spotless, the owners were welcoming and friendly, the location was fantastic, very quiet, but walking distance to the town centre and the beautiful lake. our room was cosy and warm and we slept like logs, the breakfast was lovely, nothing was to much for our hosts, who cooked my husbands egg just the way he likes them. we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 189 in Keswick
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#83 of 189 in Keswick
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#59 of 189 in Keswick
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 189 in Keswick
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $105 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing