We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #65 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful B & B”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

It was our second stay at this lovely bed and breakfast and the standard as deffinatly not slipped.Always made very welcome and the breakfast will get you to the top of any peak in the lakes.Perfect base and location and will be coming back again early in the new year...cant wait.
Simon & Sally Keighley.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    37
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
291
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Returned to Keswick with our daughter (8) after a few years away from the lake district. Last B & B we had stayed in had been a great disappintment, but the Glendale has restored our faith! Lovely clean room, lovely breakfast with a good choice for everyone, comfy beds with great night sleep.
Martin & Gilly very nice, very helpful with advice on where to go and even lent us a map to help us on one of our walks.
Keswick is a lovely place, we visited Whinlatter Forest Visitor Centre on our stay - only a couple of miles away, great place to take the family for walking/cycling - beautiful views from the walk we went on.

All in all, a great place to stay...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadelineCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed for three nights in this lovely b&b. Wonderful room (No 6) which was spotless, warm and spacious with the "hotel" feel. Martin and Gilly were wonderful hosts with great knowledge of the area, lots of information, maps, advice etc, if you need it. Breakfast was gorgeous, best boiled eggs I,ve ever had :-) !!! We would recommend Glendale to anyone, great location, great price and superb cleanlinesss! Cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 6, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artbeat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is the best B & B we have stayed in ,there was nothing we could fault . The room was spotless and the food superb . Martin and Gilly made us feel very welcome and we are looking forward to going again soon .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Back home after 3 night stay at Glendale. Extremely comfortable room, excellent breakfasts and Martin & Gilly very welcoming hosts. Although familiar with Keswick this was our first stay in the actual town and we will definitely return to Glendale. Easy walking access to town. Our hosts were very helpful and we look forward to a return trip, sooner rather than later! Highly recommend it.
Marina & Rowie N

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marina061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This was one of the best B & Bs that we stayed in during our tour of England. Our room was clean, the bathroom facilities excellent, with the location very close to the main centre of Keswick. Martin and Gilly were the perfect hosts, cooked breakfast was wonderful. Martin and Gilly were the perfect hosts and we felt very spoilt.

Room Tip: Parking can be a little difficult down the street but we always managed to get a park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyman88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Martin and Gilly are great hosts. We have stayed at Glendale so many times we have lost count and would recommend it without hesitation. The rooms are always beautifully clean and the breakfast, cooked by Gilly and served by Martin, is always delicious. The location, just a five minute walk into Keswick town with many splendid pubs and restaurants and fantastic fell walks all around, is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda_John_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#37 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#15 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#58 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing