We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rowan Tree Guest House
Ranked #62 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I highly recommend this B&B. It's only a few blocks from the city center. Rooms are small but comfortable. Amanda and Steven are amazing hosts. Always readily available for enquiries or help. If you are looking for a relaxing stay then the Rowan Tree is where you want to
be.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txoxmxaxsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've been wanting to stay here since last November, when it was fully booked. Worth waiting...Amanda and Steve are great hosts - warm, inobstrusive, but full of great tips, stories and knowledge of the local area. They have redcorated The Rowan Tree to a high standard, the bed was great, decor calming and contemporary, powerful hot shower, the drying room is a bonus (if you've been out walking in the rain) and the fruit and greek yoghurt at breakfast is to die for! Really wish you well in year 2 of your business...we will keep in touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkers-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda D, Owner at The Rowan Tree Guest House, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We both really appreciate your very kind comments. It was lovely to meet you both and wish you the best of luck with your new property in Keswick. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Amanda & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

After a very warm welcome from Amanda and Steve, we were shown to our room which was immaculate and finished to a very high standard, as was the rest of the B&B. Very comfy beds! There is a handy drying room for wet boots and coats - an absolute must when we stayed! The B&C is located in a fabulous location - easy parking and only a 5 minute walk into Keswick town centre. Amanda and Steve gave us great advice on where to eat and drink in Keswick There was a huge choice of food for breakfast and can recommend the full Cumbrian breakfast to set you up for a day's walking on the fells. Nothing is too much trouble for Steve and Amanda and would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Rowan Tree and I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spotless accommodation and a lovely room with everything you would need, the attention to detail and finish of the property is of a very high standard. Very comfy beds and a quiet location 5 minutes from the centre of Keswick!
Host,s were very friendly, hospitable and nothing to much trouble, offering advice on places to go, where to eat etc, etc.
Extensive choice for breakfast including as you would expect a Full English cooked breakfast, we couldnt fault any aspect of our stay and would highly recommend this accommodation.
We look forward to visiting again and staying at the Rowan Tree, thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinClulow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife spent a couple of nights at this B&B. we had a very warm welcome from start to finish, the house was to a high standard of decoration throughout, you had a choice of food from cereal, fruit, yogurt to full cooked Cumbrian breakfast, all rooms have on suite, freshly made up room Daily, would highly recommend this Guest House to friends and family,

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton lancs uk
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Recently spent a couple of nights in this b&b and can only echo what other reviewers say . Welcoming hosts lovely clean rooms with great bed n furnishings - good filling food and at realistic prices only 5 min from town centre parking easy wouldn't hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Having had a fabulous stay at the Rowan Tree previously I decided to book again for a pre - Christmas escape from all the madness!! Once again I was not disapointed and could find no fault with this accomodation and the service these guys offer.
The host's as usual were pleasant, accomodating and cheerful, nothing is too much trouble. My room was perfectly appointed and the finishing touches through out the B&B are remernisant of a boutique style hotel.
Breakfast offers a fabulous choice and the cooked breakfast use locally sourced produce and are cooked o perfection!
Keep up the good work guys, look forward to seeing you again soon :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTwinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#38 of 173 in Keswick
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hunters Way
#130 of 173 in Keswick
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#42 of 173 in Keswick
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#49 of 173 in Keswick
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#139 of 173 in Keswick
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#60 of 173 in Keswick
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rowan Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rowan Tree Guest House

Property: The Rowan Tree Guest House
Address: 37 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rowan Tree is a Victorian slate guest house, which has been recently refurbished to an excellent standard. It is quietly situated, yet within a short stroll of Keswick’s market square, lake, theatre, cinema and surrounding fells. All rooms are en-suite and some have views of the fells. Facilities include, flat screen TV’s, tea and coffee making facilities, radio alarm clock with ipod docking and free WI FI access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing