We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great food and great location”
Review of Dale Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dale Head Hall
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great room, great food and great location”
Reviewed October 7, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Dale Head Hall for the weekend and had a fantastic time. We had a great, spacious room with a four poster bed. The four course dinner served in the evening was superb, featuring dishes such as pigeon breast, foie gras, succulent lamb, fillet steak and a great selection of cheeses. The meal was complemented by a fantastic and comprehensive wine list.

The family who run the hotel were very friendly, helpful and great company in the evening. Finally, the location was out of this world, with beautiful views over Lake Thirlmere.

We will definitely return for another weekend in the future!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Leedscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    34
    25
    15
    25
See reviews for
27
110
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2006

We stayed in the Hayloft, a nice little self-catering appartment just a few yards from the back door of the hotel. It was well-stocked, clean and the bed linen smelt lovely, although the decor was slightly dated. The hotel owners were very helpful - suggested a wonderful walk setting off from the hotel front door; didn't charge us for the two glasses we broke; and offered us use of the hotel bar and lounge if we wished. The setting, gardens, views are stunning; this is the only building on Lake Thirlmere so it is very secluded. Convenient location for Keswick, Grasmere and Ambleside. Would go back.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist_with_bump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2006

Me and my partner booked a long weekend away we went on the internet and the hotel looked magnificent. We turned up on a cold dreay night and expected to find a warm welcoming hotel, how wrong we were. We found it difficult to find the entrance as there was no signs except for a tiny little sign on the door. Once inside we were expect to find a welcoming check in once againg how wrong could some one be in one night. The check in desk is an old desk sloted in a door way where we waited for about 15 minuites to check in. My partner and me arrived just in time for dinner and were looking forward to a nice warm room with a nice warm dinner. When we stepped into the dining room it was obvious to us that the hotel doesnt mean much to the owners, the floor needed hovering and the table cloths were dirty. Our rooms were pretty much the same as the dinig room. After the cold and stale dinner we thought we would go and find some entertainment in the lounges but all we could see was plastic flowers and the furniture looked liked it hadn't been changed in decades, along with the wallpaper . There are no tv's or any kind of cummunication at all and they dont even offer you a newspaper in the morning. At Dale head hall its very obvious that the customers come last all it matters to them is that the money is flowing in. The staff are lazy and sometimes we found them obnoxious. If you forget the setting and sceneary you realise why dale head hale is past its sell by date, the owners need to quickly refurbish dale head hall if they want it to stay as hotel and stop it becoming a hostel.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont go there
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank samfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keswick hotels

Stafford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

An unspoilt area of the lakes. No TV, no mobile phone reception just sheer peace and tranquility. The situation of this Hotel is outstanding, the only property on the Lake. The Lake is overlooked by the hotel garden and you can walk to the water in only 90 seconds. The hotel accommodation appeared to be spacious bedrooms. Unfortunately for us we stayed in a self catering cottage for two which was small (okay you would expect it to be small!) but the furniture was uncomfortable and the bathroom needed upgrading. The other difficulty was there was no window for ventilation in the bathroom which meant it smelt rather badly as did the lounge when we arrived, as the previous occupants had obviously had a dog. Having said all of this the owners, Alan and Shirley, were extremely welcoming and having only been the owners for a relatively short time are fully aware that there are lots that need to be done. Good luck to them, we say. We can thoroughly recommend staying at Dale Head but the better accommodation is the hotel rooms and also the two s/c suites they have available which we saw and which are exceptional. An added bonus is that the food is also extremely good at the hotel. We shall return.

Helpful?
3 Thank Grace&Hubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

Dale Head Hall is a beautiful manor house situated on a lovely lake called Thirlmere. I booked a surprise night away for my parents for my father’s 50th birthday and my sister and I travelled up to meet them and have an evening meal in the restaurant. We had never been to the Lake District before, but having been we will definitely be going again. The mountain views and scenery are spectacular.

The room my parents had was excellent, there was a stunning four poster bed which was in a large room in the new wing. When we asked, the owners seemed happy to show us other rooms, all of which were individual and had their own charm, however, for this occasion we were best pleased with the room they had.

Hotel staff were very friendly and efficient and the atmosphere was just right, not overpowering but very pleasant. The food was great and suited the occasion. Thanks again to everyone at the hotel for making this such a special treat, we will come again.

  • Liked — Pleasant atmosphere
  • Disliked — No mobile phone signal
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank frank24.7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2006

My partner and I stayed 29/07/06 for 1 night, it was a last thing weekend. We hadn't booked and we where on our way to Keswick when we drove past the sign that says vacancy's. I wish now I kepted on driving. We drove to the place up a county road and parked up, the place looked just the thing a nice manor type building and great views of the lake through the grounds. We went inside to find an over priced smelly (musty)Hall. We asked for a double room he gave us a choice of either a fell or lakeside view. I chose the Lake view at £65 per person inc breakfast, we where escorted to the room and what a place, The room stunk of damp, the decore was old and seen its day no TV or any mod cons, but anyway we stayed. That night we went into Keswick for some food and a drink but we needed to be back by 11.00 or the door locked. In the mornng we had our first chance to have a bath, my partner is about 5 ft she could just fit in it, after it was my turn 6ft 1 I could just sit in it it was that small and breakfast was very plain and a small choice. This all experiance reminded me of an ONLY FOOLS AND HORSES FILM (the jolly boys outing where Dell and Rod spent the night) if you have seen it you will know what I mean if not its like Faulty Towers. I feel that if it wasn't for the gorgious surroundings and view of the lake this place would have gone bust a long time ago. The only time that I would go back to this place I would took my tent and pitched it within the grounds I would have a nicer weekend.

  • Liked — views of the Lake
  • Disliked — the inside of the Hall
  • Tips/Secrets — Drive past tis one
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank cbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

This is the 7th time we have spent a long weekend at Dale Head Hall. We heard that the Hotel had changed hands in the last year but decided to go back anyway as the location is just perfect for a relaxing time.
We were not disappointed, but in fact very pleasantly surprised by the warmth and friendliness of the new owners. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt just as much at home as we had become accustomed to over previous visits.
As usual the rooms are clean and well appointed. Ours had a fabulous view over the lake.
Food was as good as always. Meal times have been extended and breakfast runs a little later and these were welcome changes. (don't go to Dale Head without having bacon for breakfast - you'l lbe missing a treat!).
We expected the visit to feel a liitle strange because Hans was always the soul of the place in previous visits. We have to be honest here and say that the first half day was a little strange in that we were expecting to see Hans at any moment. Having said that we were made to feel so welcome that this was all soon forgotten and we had a wonderful stay.
For those of you who have visited Dale Head before and are wondering whether to go back now that this Hotel is under new management - go for it - it's just as good as ever!

  • Liked — The proprieters and the food
  • Disliked — Could do with some fresh decoration
  • Tips/Secrets — Book room 5 if youcan afford a bit extra
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Head Hall

Property: Dale Head Hall
Address: Lake Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Dale Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Head Hall Keswick
Dale Head Hall Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing