We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7th visit and not the last”
Review of Dale Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dale Head Hall
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Reviewed July 22, 2006

This is the 7th time we have spent a long weekend at Dale Head Hall. We heard that the Hotel had changed hands in the last year but decided to go back anyway as the location is just perfect for a relaxing time.
We were not disappointed, but in fact very pleasantly surprised by the warmth and friendliness of the new owners. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt just as much at home as we had become accustomed to over previous visits.
As usual the rooms are clean and well appointed. Ours had a fabulous view over the lake.
Food was as good as always. Meal times have been extended and breakfast runs a little later and these were welcome changes. (don't go to Dale Head without having bacon for breakfast - you'l lbe missing a treat!).
We expected the visit to feel a liitle strange because Hans was always the soul of the place in previous visits. We have to be honest here and say that the first half day was a little strange in that we were expecting to see Hans at any moment. Having said that we were made to feel so welcome that this was all soon forgotten and we had a wonderful stay.
For those of you who have visited Dale Head before and are wondering whether to go back now that this Hotel is under new management - go for it - it's just as good as ever!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 200 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2006

My wife and I went to the Lake District very much on spec. without pre booking any accomodation. After visiting a checking out a couple of hotels which clearly didn't hit the mark, it was evident when we arrived at this hotel that this was very well cared for accommodation. We received a very warm welcome from the owners and found them extremely helpful. The entrance hall and lounges were very welcoming and the whole place was very clean. The breakfast was particularly good with a wide choice and the service could not have been better. I would recommend Dale Head Hall without hesitation, but ask to have a look at a few rooms if possible, the ones at the front have impressive views of the lakeside and for me, are worth the little extra.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank George_Su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Norwich
12
Reviewed July 5, 2006

This is the second time we have visited Dale Head and we cannot believe our luck with the weather. We had a lovely time doing absolutely nothing. The hotel is so peaceful and the location is superb with hotel service to match. Drinks on the terrace looking out over the lake, there is no better place to be. Looking forward to our next visit in October, can't wait!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bristol
12
Reviewed July 4, 2006

We stumbled on this place by accident. We hadn't booked but were made to feel very welcome and stayed in a lovely room with a very comfortable bed. Although the weather wasn't kind, it didn't matter as we spent two days just relaxing and enjoying superb food. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
York
12
Reviewed April 28, 2006

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better place. The location is superb and the welcome, service and hospitality second to none. The food was absolutely scrumptious.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2006

This hotel is ludicrously overpriced; the location is impressive, but unfortunately the service is woeful, the interior decoration is unimaginative, cheap and depressing and there is no attention to detail.

It is evident that at Dale Head Hall the customer comes second.

I have the very strong impression that if they continue like this the owners will not stay in business for long.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Isabel086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2006

In late November we stayed at Dale Head Hall with friends. The omens were not good from the outset. When making the reservation I was told that information and confirmation would be sent to me. Nothing was received, so ten days later I rang to query and was told with no apology “we have been too busy”.

We arrived in the dark on a cold damp evening, struggled to find our way to the entrance, path unlit and steps covered in wet leaves. We expected to find a warm, welcoming hotel – what a let down. The whole place, public rooms and guest rooms were dingy and inadequately lit, it was cold, the fireplace housed plastic flowers ( a feature throughout), chairs were arranged giving the impression that one was entering an old people’s home, not a well rated, expensive hotel. The public areas smelled stale and our room was drab and depressing, it felt as if nothing had changed décor wise for 20 to 30 years. Interestingly there was one robe only – were we meant to share? An old rusty tin contained soft biscuits. Dinner was disappointing, food served by surly staff on cold plates in a cold room.

We were on a DB&B package but found the experience so poor that the second day we stated our intention to eat elsewhere the second night, only to be told that we would still pay the full £95 pp.

There was only one member of staff who treated us with warmth, a smile and interest, the person responsible for cleaning, otherwise we were met with indifference throughout.

What a pity, the location is superb, but is not matched in any way. Some fresh flowers, a fire, a few pieces of attractive furniture, some up to date neutral colours, but most of all owners who care about what they offer could transform the place – it is crying out for investment in every area.

7  Thank TonyandBeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#5 of 22 in Keswick
579 reviews
4.7 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#13 of 22 in Keswick
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 22 in Keswick
709 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#14 of 22 in Keswick
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Head Hall

Address: Lake Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $97 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Dale Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Head Hall Keswick
Dale Head Hall Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing